WhatStove?

Esse 125 wood burning stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 16 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Esse 125 wood burning stove

The Esse 125 stove is a contemporary stove with one plain glass door which

gives a good view of the fire.

This wood burning model is available in black only and has a 125mm flue outlet.

It is made of a mix of cast iron and steel and has been fabricated in the UK.

Technical Data
  • Height: 530mm
  • Width: 648mm
  • Depth: 363mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

Most Popular Review

  • Esse 125SE: an excellent choice

    Anthony Dunn 10 years ago

    The Esse 125SE (smoke exempt) is fully approved for use in smoke-control areas under the Clean Air Acts. Our installation, through an HETAS installer based in NW London, represented such good
    value that it would not have been possible for me to better the cost and ease of installation if I had done it myself.The stove itself is a fantastic fit if your fireplace recess is relatively shallow. This lack of depth is compensated for by greater width than is found in many other 5kW rated stoves. The advantage of this is that it enables wider logs to be used than is the case with many other stoves. The airwash system works superbly and delivers an almost hypnotic view of the firebox when the stove is in full burn. The almost complete lack of smoke (I am using properly seasoned wood) is almost disconcerting. The previous posting from Sarah Pennington about the glass door smoking up owes nothing to the quality or operation of the stove, this is entirely caused by using logs that are either green or too damp. Consequently, I consider her ratings unfairly downgrade the performance and value for money of this product.I have found the burn rate to be very controllable through the top control albeit that it is not possible to achieve a full overnight burn with this stove. But we didn't buy it for that. What is also impressive is the level of warmth generated for a 6 metre by 6 metre by 3 m high living room - we plan on improving on this by buying an Ecofan to direct warm air away from the stove.The product appears to be very solidly constructed with use of stainless steel for the legs and cast iron for all the main body panels. Made in Lancashire, should parts ever be required in future, it should be pretty easy to obtain them. The build quality and finish are also excellent. The extremely stylish contemporary look has already induced many complimentary remarks: it really does not look like the staid, tired old "country barn" styled stoves that are so prevalent.Neither my wife nor I have any form of commercial or non-commercial relationship with Esse but we are extremely pleased to have made this purchase: it's a genuinely good product at a value for money price. Just get it properly installed and use adequately seasoned wood!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Esse 125 wood burning stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Esse easy.

    4 years ago

    I installed an Esse 125 Multi Fuel stove 4 years ago and it's been superb. Prior to buying this stove I had considered many makes, models and prices. This particular stove was just under £1000
    , but was worth every penny. I did find the top air control stiff to operate at first, but this got better with use. Replacement bricks were a reasonable price and easy to do. This stove is easy to use and clean. I've also had to replace the baffle plate as it became distorted after a couple of years, again this was easy and relatively cheap. Parts are easy to come by through Esse.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Esse 125Se (guarantee is rubbish).

    Brian Needham 5 years ago

    Esse guarantee is not good, in fact the only thing guaranteed is the metal box, I asked for a new baffle that bent within six months, the reply was:- the guarantee does not cover Glass, rope
    , grates or baffles.

    Stove expert replied: This guarantee policy is standard for most if not all manufacturers who do not cover consumable parts. As your baffle plate warped in such a short time and you state you can't dampen your stove down it would appear that you have a flue draw problem as it seems to be over-drawing. This is an installation issue and not a stove issue and should be investigated in the near future as leaving may lead to further problems with metal distortion of the stove if left unchecked. First thing would be to get a flue draw test undertaken and check that it matches the manufacturers instructions.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Burn control

    Paul McConnell 5 years ago

    We have had this stove installed by a reputable registered supplier three years ago. It has fulfilled all of our expectations with one major exception - the burn control. No matter how I adjust
    the lower air intake, the fire continues to burn fiercely, which means making a trip every 20 minutes to add more seasoned logs. This is fine heating the room initially, but when the temperature reaches a comfortable level, we must open the door of the room and let the fire die back.We have a second wood burner from another manufacturer in another room and the burn control behaves perfectly.Both chimneys are an equal height so the draw in each is the same.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Great stove

    Martin Wray 6 years ago

    Having this stove for 3 year now and having it on all winter 24/7 I think its been fantastic. Fire bricks have just cracked in the back and I think its time for a new rope seal now. Dry wood
    is the key for glass been clean, coal often stains it but dry logs clean it again . The handle does get hot so recommend a glove and the only downfall is the chrome fronts are now black but not rusted. Its been a great buy and looks great as well.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Great looking stove - but I need some help!

    Andy Oakes 6 years ago

    The stove was installed during August 2014 and it looks great, is easy to light and heat output is just perfect for our home. Having said that - we are on glass number 3. The 1st pain broke
    during a burn, we thought it must have been due to hot ash close to the glass. The window was replaced, but has broken again with no obvious reason, in fact the fire had died and gone out. It goes with a loud crack, and both occasions right in the middle (close to the fixing screws) top to bottom. The glass comes out in two half's. We just don't know what has caused this, can someone help us? Thank you.

    Stove expert replied: Make sure that you do not over tighten the glass, it may be that this has caused stress where the fixings are.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • ESSE 125

    Simon Buckley 7 years ago

    Superb burner. Had mine for 2 years with no issues to report and this is use daily in autumn and winter. I have read the comments posted and I do feel many of the challenges are due to how you
    use. I have not had any issues with the glass nor rust on the sides. This is a real house warmer and using the right fuels your glass is clear all year round. Onto the wood. Always use season dried hard wood with oak, elm, silver birch being best. Light a fire towards the back and many of the issues suggested about the air controls are due to fitting and elevation of chimney. Keep clean outside with a dry cloth and remove the ash after 4 burns. Proper wood is key. I hope this helps.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Esse 125 SE Airwash Issue

    Jim Christian 8 years ago

    Key factors in my decision to recently purchase this particular stove were the large glass front and claims that the 'airwash' system would keep the glass clear. I've been disappointed to find
    that, despite using kiln-dried logs from a proprietary source, and irrespective of the air intake settings, a large sooty deposit always forms in an inverted 'V' shape from the central screw on the inside of the door top. I assume this might be due to an air leak at the screw mounting and wonder if this is a design or manufacturing fault that could be fixed by replacing the screw (I note Mr. Dunn has experienced a similar problem). I also find the range of control over the air intake to be somewhat limited, with little option between fully open and fully closed. Overall however; the stove is very easy to light, provides quick heat output, looks great in the fireplace and is a key feature in the room. It's just a pity that the effect is marred by the deposit on the glass whenever the stove is lit.

    Stove expert replied: The SE models have less air intake movement control as the flue gases need to be permanently diluted to conform to the smoke controlled area regulations. It is a shame that you have this problem with deposits on the glass, if the air control is fully open this should be kept to a minimum.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • A cracker

    Steve In Blandford 9 years ago

    This applies to the Esse 125 mu1tifuel but only used wood so far. Very easy to light, sits right in the alcove of our '20s bungalow fireplace. Lots of heat and a great view of flames. Very
    easy to light and gets nice and hot very quickly. Controls travel only a short distance and with the mit on it is not that easy to get the slider in the right place. However, apart from that minor issue, it looks great (even when not lit) and does heat our rather large and oddly shaped room. Overall, get one, if it looks right for your room - British too!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Esse 125 Review

    Peter Darby 10 years ago

    We had an Esse 125 woodburner installed a couple of months ago in our lounge which is approximately 7m x4m x2.4m or 70 cu.m.It is a modern design which fits in perfectly with the decor and looks
    a great centrepiece on the hearth. This is our first woodburning stove although we have long enjoyed open log fires; what a transformation! It is childsplay to light,operate and control and burns less than half the amount of wood and gives out more heat. The large window allows a fantastic view of the fire and the airwash keeps it absolutely clear.The controls are very simple and although the top lever is a little difficult to move when heated up,it allows good control of the heat level.The shallow firebox is very economical,only needing one log or two at the very most to fill.Build quality is robust rather than elegant and so far appears very durable. We have lit the stove every night since we had it and my wife and I both love it;one of the best things we've ever bought.

    Stove expert replied: Great review and a happy customer, what more can you ask for?

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2