WhatStove?

Dru 44 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Dru 44 stove

The Dru 44 is a multifuel cast iron stove ideal for the smaller living room.

Technical Data
  • Height: 625mm
  • Width: 450mm
  • Depth: 405mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Why Is my Dru 44 burning so fast lately?

    Sina Collier 9 months ago

    Hi all, can anyone help me with the above. My stove has been burning really quickly lately. I thought it was just the rope seal needed replacing but I''ve done that and it hasnt made any difference
    . I have both the air wash and the wheel closed tightly but its impossible to keep the stove fed. Can anyone help?

    Stove expert replied: If a stove starts to burn more quickly than usual the first thing to check is that all the seals (door and glass) are in tact. Replace if they appear worn or have become rigid. Check that the new door seal is sealing well but closing a piece of paper between the body of the stove and the door, if you can pull this out look at adjusting the door. Next is to check that the internal components are in their correct position. If neither of these seem to be an issue, is there anything different with the flue system, weather pattern (wind coming from a different direct than normal etc.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Unbelievable

    Tom Murphy 10 years ago

    I have one for the past few weeks and have burned both coal and wood. I am taken back with the ease of use and the heat output. I put on three logs one day and controlled the burn down. I came
    back four hours later and the room was really warm. i then threw on two more logs and opened the air intake. I had a lovely blaze going in minutes. I also went for the enamel finish and it looks really good.

    Stove expert replied: Popular model which works well. Good review in all areas.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Dru 44 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Riddle

    Dermot Dermo99@gmail.com 3 years ago

    The riddle on my stove seemed to "lock up" and is not really working any more - anyone else have similar issue? The glass pane also cracked and replaced after a couple years. I have another larger stove that is several years older and never had the same issue so was surprised. However a great stove overall and perfect size for room it sits in.

    Stove expert replied: Once the stove is cleaned out you may find that some small fragments of unburnt fuel have got stuck in the grate system and thus is preventing it from working. Different fuels burn producing varying degrees of deposits and clinkers can lodge in the working parts of the grate system, perhaps an alternative smokeless fuel would give better results if this is found to be the cause.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Unhappy with handle

    5 years ago

    8 weeks ago I had a Dru 44 stove installed by a local company. I have had a stove before and spent a fair amount of time choosing this model. I was somewhat surprised at the installation to be handed the handle and told that this had to be put in and out when the door was to be opened and closed. I thought the guys were having a practical joke, but they reassured me that this was how it was designed. It looks awful without the handle and not one of the pictures in the brochure/website have a stove on without the handle in place. I feel really silly as I am sure that this is incorrect. The handle keeps dropping out and is already marked in a few places and I have taken a chip out of the hearth. I have emailed Dru twice, and they haven't replied. I am really disappointed. As far as efficiency is concerned, the stove is great, but could other owners tell me if I have been misinformed. Regards, Janet

    Stove expert replied: The Dru 44 has a removable stainless steel handle which can stop the door from being opened accidentally and is seen a a good safety aspect on this model. It is best left by the side of the stove until required and will then not fall out accidentally and cause damage to the hearth.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Gorgeous

    Catherine Smith 6 years ago

    We have just had this installed in the Ivory colour - and it is gorgeous! I love the simple, classic design and even when it is unlit it is a real feature of the room. I would say in the flesh
    it is a creamier shade than we were anticipating and so we have had to rethink our colour scheme for the room as we were opting for bluey greys to bring out the colour in the slate hearth. We have opened our fireplace right up to an old high arch. Our installer didn't have a problem finding us a matching flue in the exact same Ivory shade. We have only used it a few times so far, but are really impressed with the heat - as our room is quite narrow but long, and we sit directly opposite the fireplace, we were advised to get a model with this sort of heat output otherwise we would be uncomfortably hot - this is just perfect, and heats the whole room comfortably.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • matching flue a problem

    David Blackbourn 7 years ago

    All I wanted, after buying an ivory stove, was a matching flue. Not a chance. Now selling on ebay and buying carron.

    Stove expert replied: Flue pipe can be purchased in a range of colours but is not guaranteed to match unless you get the RAL number used on the stove. Might be worth exploring further before selling this model.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • This is my second woodburner and what a GREAT WOODBURNER!

    S Webb 7 years ago

    Just to give you a bit of background...Ive always wanted a wood burner and after saving for more years than I'd care to remember started to build my own corner fireplace complete with hearth
    ..(Following all the safety and legal requirements you can save yourself a lot of money )We have no chimney so opted to go straight up through our bedroom and out through the roof with twin wall 6" pipe which was fitted by Hetas qualified body.I did everything else due to safety reasons and insurance reasons the Hetas guys did the pipe work.My first stove kept smelling after reaching 400 temp and got me down for several years after trying everything from extending the height of the pipe to a rotating chimney top to draw out/stop back draft etc.What a waste of money and years of denial!The DRU44 4.9kW for me it's more like 6.5 to 7 kW (THAT'S ONLY MY OPINION)has changed everything for our whole family it's a dream to light and easy to control and IT WILL DO AN OVERNIGHT BURN!One review I read while doing our research said it wouldn't...14 hrs after building the fire up the night before and fine tuning the air intake no problems!The solid cast silver handle will detach as it does get hot...The grate has a circular section which attaches to a rod (this get hot as well)that you can pull to drop the ash into the sturdy ash pan.Airwash system works very well but sometimes the glass will need a clean especially if doing an overnight burn and I use a damp sponge and dip it in the burnt ash and wipe it over the glass which works great. We burn logs 12" and smokeless coal...We have a ten year old 3 bed semi and the DRU44 heats every room.. so as soon as the fire is going we turn the central heating off.Any questions I'm more than happy to answer.. if I can and help/try and prevent that nightmare from taking hold(as it did initially for me) and wasting big money.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • DRU 44 Multifuel Stove - excellent!

    Sheila Merson 7 years ago

    We had the DRU 44 installed 6 months ago with a flexible flue liner and a twin wall flue, and we're very happy with it. We burn hard wood logs and smokeless anthracite ovals. The stove really
    throws out the heat and we always keep the lounge door open to let some of the heat out to the rest of the house. If we need to keep it going through the night, we just shut it back and leave it simmering. Then when we open both air inlets in the morning, it starts glowing again and can be started up easily with a little kindling, then logs. Compared to other stoves we've had, the DRU 44 is so much more controllable. We would happily recommend it to others. A very sturdy, robust stove too, and the handle is removable, so it never gets too hot - great idea!

    Stove expert replied: Loverly review, great feedback for this stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Excellent Stove for our needs

    Steve Dibble 8 years ago

    It is very easy to light and the air controls are very sensitive and effective. For a small stove we find it to be very efficient, clean and easy to use - I could hug it if it wasn't so hot!!
    We like it that much. It looks great too, we were worried that nothing would look as good as the old open fire and were mistaken. Highly recommended.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • DRU 44 stove is ideal

    Tony 8 years ago

    Ive had this stove for 2 years with the short legs and felt like I should write a review if anyone is interested in buying this model. I live in an old granite house in Aberdeen with high ceilings making it hard to heat, but with this in the living room it makes even the coldest winter day nice and cosy. I started off burning wood and it was brilliant at that, glass kept clean and a lot of heat given off it, can take a while to get used to the controls for the perfect temperature but what stove doesn't. Now am lazy so start off with wood until a red hot bed of wood is burning then get the anthracite on it. With anthracite this stove can easily burn 6-8 hours with a strong heat output and you not having to do anything but soak in the heat, by closing the air flow for an over night burn, up to 12 hours is possible, dont forget to riddle. You can have this burning constantly for a week at time but then its worth letting it burn out after around 6-7 days so you can give it a quick clean out then start all over again due to the ash build up as not all is removed from riddling and emptying the ash pan. Cleaning is easy as is a simple construction and the removable ash pan is ideal, I've had it stripped completely down over summer to give it a good clean and its really easy to put back correctly. A stove thermometer is worth sticking on the upper side of this stove to give a good indication to see if you getting the best out of it. In all a great stove which after a bit of practice is easy to use and will keep you warm for years to come, easy to clean and has a got plain yet stylish look about it. This has knocked quite a bit of money of our gas bill as we have an old boiler so use the central heating much less now especially during the day. I would happily have a second one installed in the rear of the house to warm the kitchen and dining room, maybe even next size up. I have only use wood and mainly use anthracite, have used coal once but it stinks produces loads of ash and not really good for the health of you stove.

    Stove expert replied: Household coal is not recommended in a closed appliance due to the dirty nature of the fuel and the fact that it burns with a longer flame than smokeless fuels. This can lead to failure of the baffle plate!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2