WhatStove?

Country Kiln 1 stove

Overall Rating:

3 flames

based on 17 reviews    (View rating breakdown)

Country Kiln 1

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3 flames
Quality of finish 3 flames
Value for money 3 flames
Ease of use 3 flames
Ease of lighting 3 flames
Firebox size 3 flames
How well does the airwash work 2.5 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 2.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Customer service?

    Steven Ledaig 2 years ago

    I own and run a country kiln 1 stove. This a great little stove and I would normally recommend it to anyone interested . Sadly that is now no longer the case. My grate melted at the rear ( I
    have never used coal btw) and I contacted country kiln via email to buy a replacement grate and asked for a price? Unfortunately for me , my request was dismissed out of hand with the reply - we don't have a grate for this mode and you can burn your wood on a bed of ash..... that's it! That was the reply. Suffice to say I could curse.... customer service..... merde!

    Stove expert replied: Wood will burn best on a bed of ash but if there is a grate in a stove the ash can build up on it over time allowing woodburning conditions that are not quite as efficient as a designated wood stove but will still give good heat output.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Country Kiln Stoves La Fille

    Ken Jobsz 11 years ago

    If anyone is thinking of buying a stove from "Country Kiln Stoves", I would strongly advise against it. I had my stove delivered from which was OK. I checked it for damage, as was requested,
    there was no damage so I signed for the delivery. My stove installer could not install the stove for about two months because of his work load. However, he did install the stove but advised me not to use it as one of the internal metal plates was missing. I rang Country Kiln and after the third call I was informed they would send me the missing plate, but I will have to pay another amount of £15 to cover postage - what a farce, as it was their mistake in the first place. If you are reading this and are thinking of buying from Country Kiln - be aware, you might be missing something as well and it will cost you MORE money!!!!. 05.12.09
    Overall rating:

    1 flames

More reviews for Country Kiln 1 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • killin 1

    Gibb Rae 3 years ago

    Been using this stove for 10 years now, never let me down yet, heats the whole flat, uses coal or briquettes if no wood and it burns both with no problems. All I can say to stove novices who
    don't understand how to use the tool would be to choose an alternative fuel to heat your home! Brilliant little stove.

    Stove expert replied: Good review. It can take some time to find out how to operate a stove and what fuel will give the best results. Practice makes perfect and providing the conditions are suitable a stove should perform wellt.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Country kiln adorn

    5 years ago

    I bought a small adorn multi fuel fire from country kiln a few years ago. It was not fitted straight away as the house was not ready for it to go in. Anyway I have been using it now for about
    five years and in this time the grate melted at the back and bits fell off, so a big hole in the grate also the throat plate is badly warped and cracked and does not sit right so fire is not getting hot as all the heat escapes. Country kiln do not sell spares so fire is now useless. Was told by country kiln team it is cheaper to buy a new fire. Right buy fire have it installed that is not cheap. Not a very helpful team when something goes wrong. But very helpful when buying.

    Stove expert replied: Spares should be available for a given period after a product is supplied, I am unsure why you have found that this is not the case with this stove. The amount of heat produced will lesson as the internal components are now not intact or allowing for the correct burning conditions as would have been the case when the stove was new. Disappointing comments on a stove that is not very old..

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Bad design

    Michael Leahy 5 years ago

    I have had my Country Kiln Adorne stove just over six years and I must say on the run up to buying it the staff were extremely helpful. The stove is adequate in heating performance but although
    sold as a multi fuel stove the lady I spoke to last year (five years after buying the stove) advised me in very strong terms NOT to use Homefire Ovals which is one of the better smokeless fuels and in fact they did end up destroying the steel (yes really, steel) fire "brick" at the back, you can't buy these as I was told they would be approx £250 (only sold in the set of three) and was told "you might as well buy a new stove", the other bad design feature is the door hinges which are long brass rods which you cannot remove, you really should take the doors off to re rope the doors to do it properly. To say I feel upset is putting it mildly, you don't go buying a stove every six years with the descriptions on the web site of quality that were there when I bought it. A shame as when burning its cheery little face made you glow within. I shall now have to go the expense of buying and getting installed another (make)

    Stove expert replied: Homefire Ovals are fine to use on a closed appliance, there are more than one Homefire products available and if it is the six sided nuggets that you have been using then these are for use on an open fire and should not be used in a closed appliance.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • country kiln 1

    J-r Brown 6 years ago

    This stove had been perfect for me, I have been burning wood and coal non stop from November and has been lit every day some times for 48 hours plus. The only thing I can fault about the stove
    is the pin on the catch to open the door falls out and the grate is warped but I know this is my fault from burning coal over night and not emptying my ash tray when it needs to be emptied, also I have got a stove hoover which I think is a must as you can empty the ash pan when the fire is still burning
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Can't seem to get it right

    Paula Fletcher 6 years ago

    I have a country kiln in the living room and a Firefox in the dining room ( large stone house ) I'm burning both seasoned wood and ovoids at the minute as that is what was recommended by a friend who also lives in a cold farmhouse. I can't seem to get the fires to keep a constant heat going, here is my system, ovoids and a few firefighters, with some kindling and a log on top. Top air wash open and bottom breather open full, usually by the time the kindling has gone and the log is well alight, the ovoids are cherry red and lovely. ( not heating the room at this point ) I then pour some more ovoids on top and let them get going. Every half hour or so I chuck a log on and more ovoids if they're running down. The heat is usually great within an hour or so but I'm constantly feeding the fires, both rooms! Can someone explain to me like a 2 year old, how to get the best use from my fires please. I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be doing with the airflow top and bottom. Instruction on wood and ovoids would be great, also how can I get it to burn all night and is this safe? Many thanks
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Country Kiln La Fille

    Neil Fennel 7 years ago

    I picked one up from their workshop, (tried to carry it into the lounge- really a 2 man lift) had it and flue fitted by local builder and it has worked well, heating the lounge well and gradually
    the bungalow. Took a while to familiarise with vents but they work well, either drawing fast or simmering. Okay not managed overnight burn but then I am burning fallen branches or interior (soft)wood. Prefer to cut any slightly green logs into orange sized nuggets arranged unevenly for good burning, or seasoned ones can be laid more flat. Window does soot a bit using wood that's a bit green and it rubs off with crumpled newspaper which then makes a good lighter. I'd buy another one.

    Stove expert replied: Wood that has a moisture content of 20% or less should only be used to prevent problems in the flue system.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • country kiln

    Anthony Purcell 9 years ago

    I purchased an 8kw stove from Country Kiln 4 years ago and installed it myself. I'm from Ireland and it was cheaper to purchase in Scotland and ship here than buy here. I had a Stovax insert stove which this one replaced and probably cost £350 including shipping. the Stovax cost £1000. I burn mostly turf or wood and this stove does everything it is supposed to do. It stays lit all night, as the ashes are not removed before you go to bed.It heats our living room and kitchen It only goes out if we are away for a weekend. I am amazed to see negative comments about them. The glass can be purchased in most glass shops as I had to replace the one in my Stovax. I don't believe they are made in China as most of the Chinese stoves warp when they get too hot. This has never happened with mine. I have only used one box of fire lighters all year. The glass does blacken but I think this happens in all stoves once the draught is closed. I am completely satisfied with my stove.

    Stove expert replied: Good feedback but do not agree with comments on Chinese stoves warping, the ones I know of have not!! Try to leave the airwash open a little and this should help to keep the glass clean especially if the wood has a moisture content of less than 20%.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Country Kiln Aspect Stove

    T Grayling 9 years ago

    We have had problems with our stove since it was purchased. Used occasionally and properly, we have had to replace the glass twice due to cracking when lit. On both occasions there was nothing
    close to or touching the glass. Nothing underneath and the ashpan was empty , so at a loss to know why the glass could not withstand the heat (£50 replacement) the company were unhelpful and more or less accused us of misusing the stove. Having looked on the Internet, this seems to be a common problem with Country kiln stoves. We used a reputable fitter to install the stove/plate and he immediately commented on the poor quality and finish of the product. Forgot to mention that the vents on the stove do not open/ shut easily, something we hadn't noticed until it was installed. We bought direct from the company on EBay without seeing the product first. Avoid at all costs and pay a little bit more for a stove you can find locally.

    Stove expert replied: It is a good idea to investigate in depth what you are buying to avoid disappointment. Glass will not be covered by a warranty nor will any liners, so please read the small print!

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • country kiln 1

    Alan Barley 9 years ago

    I cannot believe the comments from other users, we have been using woodburners for 28 years at different homes so we know whats good and bad, we love our little country kiln 1, we have had it
    for 3 years now and it performs as good as our previous Morso squirrel, old Villager,and Franco Belge cooker.we rate this as a brilliant little thing, I think the problems people have had are down to users,poor Hetas engineers,and retail shops who have a vested interest in knocking these stoves

    Stove expert replied: How refreshing to have comments from a customer who speaks from experience of several ranges of stoves. Good honest feedback. Thanks.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2