WhatStove?

Coalbrookdale Little Wenlock Mk3 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Coalbrookdale Little Wenlock Mk3 stove
The Coalbrookdale Little Wenlock stove has a long history. There were the Mk1, Mk2, and Mk3 stoves which have now been superceeded by the current Little Wenlock model. Boiler models were also manufactured.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 2 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Boiler Output

    Charles Heap 4 years ago

    Just purchased a cottage with a little Wenlock stove. Externally it looks exactly like the one in the posting but it has a back boiler and must be ''quite old'' as the previous owner inherited it when he bought the cottage some 20 years ago. Don't know which version, most probably Mk1 due to its age but it really is a great little stove. After experimenting with different fuels have concluded that smokeless ovals suit it best but I would like to know what the boiler output is and also the room heat output as it has a boiler.

    Stove expert replied: Aga have taken over this brand and should be able to answer your questions.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Coalbrookdale Little Wenlock Mk2

    Terence 10 years ago

    I inherited this stove in a mobile home that I bought and lived in for about five years. The stove looked nearly new when I bought the mobile home. It is fitted with a back boiler which was
    connected to a standard domestic hot water tank via an unsealed system so the hot water in the tank passed through the boiler and the whole system worked using the thermo siphon system and worked very well. Only problem I had was that I did not use much hot water and if the fire was lit during the day the water in the back boiler and tank would boil by late evening which made quite a noise. The airwash system, such that it was, was not very effective so I made a new plate/deflector to fit the door and this helped. When the mobile home was disposed of I kept my Little Wenlock and am just about to install it into my house. One of the beauties of this stove is that all the fastenings are stainless and after 15 years of use and being stored they all undid with ease allowing me to dismantle sand blast and repaint the whole thing. It now looks like new. I would highly recommend this stove, and would certainly buy another if I needed one, though with its build quality it will probably outlast me anyway.

    Stove expert replied: I hope that when you install it again that you incorporate some safety features such as a high temp header tank and heat leak radiator. This stove is not suitable for pressurised systems.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Coalbrookdale Little Wenlock Mk3 stove

  • Coalbrookdale Little Wenlock Mark 1 multi-fuel stove

    Angela Perkins 6 years ago

    Installed in 1981 and at 34 years old, my Little Wenlock stove has sprung a leak from it's back boiler. Might have experienced a flood, if it had happened overnight but it is such a shame it
    has come to the end of it's life after having given reliable service, lashings of hot water and heat to the kitchen for so long. I will miss it.Now to upgrade to another small stove but not to another Little Wenlock, the smallest of which does not now have a back boiler.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Brilliant

    Terry OSullivan 7 years ago

    Hi Had my Wenlock in place for 24 years. Coming to the end of its life now. I am going to strip and attempt a rebuild but expect the cast is worn out from constant temp change. It has been a fantastic servant. I want the same fire but the new ones have the "Airflow system"

    Stove expert replied: Improvements in the modern stove should only enhance the performance and should not put you off a direct replacement being purchased.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Coalbrookdale wonderful Little Wenlock peat burner.

    Moz Green 9 years ago

    Excellent stove which will burn any flammable solid material. I bought the original model 25 years ago and it is still going strong, minus its grate and firebricks, burning logs. I burned coal and smokeless fuel for the first five years but the firebricks cracked and the grate became distorted and would not riddle with the rotating assembly (it just fell to bits eventually). This was caused by the frequent build up of ash in the pan which is only about an inch (about 3cm) deep. When coal ash comes into contact with the cast iron grate the latter oxidizes rapidly and is soon damaged. The only downside if this stove is this shallow ashpan space which,together with the fire bricks and grate, is essential if coal is being burned. However the simple and very effective air control has enabled me to burn any fuel, including wood, for over 24 hours at a lower temperature. Wood is by far the preferred fuel as, after removal of the firebricks and grate, a large space enables wood to be burned on a bed of ash that needs emptying twice a week, as opposed to twice a day at least with coal or smokeless fuel, and is therefore much cleaner and easier. I've heard criticism of the coarse black finish of the stove - matt black (maintained by use of Zebrite graphite ) is the best colour for encouragement of thermal radiation from the stove. If it were white or shiny it would get hot but would be less efficient and a nightmare to keep clean. I would have another of these stoves without a second thought (I hope the later models are of at least as good quality). I have used a Much Wenlock stove which has a larger capacity and two doors. That stove was not as good as the doors and consequent air flow were less simple and easy to manage.

    Stove expert replied: Coal is not a recommended fuel for most closed appliances, use smokeless fuels that are not petroleum based. Empty the ashpan regularly and do not let the ash build up in it. Be careful what you use on the outside of a stove as there may be a chemical reaction with the paint if a genuine product is not used.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Smoked up door

    J Bamforth 10 years ago

    This Mk3 Little Wenlock is a super little stove giving excellent output.We currently burn smokeless fuel, I believe it is a made up fuel in the shape of ovals.The stove is approx. 5 years old
    and looks as good as it did when it was first installed. I am on my second glass (not a problem) but now when the stove is lit all is well, however as the evening progresses the door becomes very black and dusty?It never did this for the first 4 years?If I fit all 4 sides with the asbestos channelling it smokes up immediately, if I omit the top and the bottom channels the sides stay clear but the top and bottom of the glass are still very black.Our chimney is swept on a regular basis, but would be interested if anyone knows of such a cure for this.On a final point, the JML Magic sponge is terrific for cleaning the glass without scratching.

    Stove expert replied: Check that the airwash system is clear, you may find that you can take this apart for cleaning so refer to the manual.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Little Wenlock stove

    Kevin Riley 12 years ago

    We bought a Mk2 secondhand, not knowing what make or model it was. It has proved to be a very good little stove that helps to boost the heat in the Lounge Bar of our pub.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • COALBROOKDALE LITTLE WENLOCK MK2

    STEVE CULLEN 12 years ago

    HADE THIS LITTLE WENLOCK FOR ABOUT 5YRS INHERITED FROM MY MOTHER IN LAW WHO MUST HAVE HAD IT ABOUT FROM NEW ABOUT 15YRS MAKING THE STOVE APPROX 20YRS OLD AND STILL WORKING FINE WE CAN ALL REMEMBER
    THE LOVELY AROMA IN THE MOTHER IN LAWS HOUSE WHEN SHE USED TO SLOW COOK ON THE TOP OF THE STOVE FANTASTIC TIMES TO REMEMBER IF I DECIDED TO REPLACE THIS STOVE I WOULD CERTAINLY BUY THE MODERN AGA MODEL WITH THE AIRWASH FACILITY
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great stove but cracked

    Mark Blythe

    We have had this stove from new for 7 or 8 years. Good at heating our little cottage in the Outer Hebrides. It has been a welcome little workhouse. We have however had a problem with it cracking. The top plate and side has cracked. Would be interested to know why this has happened. The only fuel available out on the islands is smokeless coal or peat. We burn smokeless coal. Could it be that the coal is burning too hot? Any thoughts.

    Stove expert replied: It does sound as if the stove has become too hot, are the liners still protecting the firebox?

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames