WhatStove?

Clarke potbelly stove standard size

Overall Rating:

2.5 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Clarke potbelly stove standard size
The standard sized Clarke potbelly stove is a traditional small potbelly stove.
Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 2.5 flames
Quality of finish 2.5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 3 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 2.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 2 flames
Controllability 2 flames
Handle operation 2 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 2.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 2.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Brilliant little stove.

    Lynnette Royce 10 months ago

    I have had this stove for 20 years, it''s a brilliant little stove, which heats my conservatory faithfully every winter, and keeps all my plants alive, so I can then take my spring cuttings.
    I make it up every night, and shut down the damper and it stays in extremely well. I cannot fault it.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great Camper Van Warmer!

    Dominic Porter 12 years ago

    I have this fitted in my Camper (converted Parcel Force Iveco) and it is brilliant for the job. It is a small space which gets more than hot enough, even in Scotland in Winter. It is small and
    the wood going in needs to be small but then so is my van (relatively). It doesn't burn very slowly so left full and burning it will be empty in about an hour but in a van that is fine. If I am going to sleep it is enough to keep me warm until the duvet warms up!Very easy to light, especially with a bit of a breeze outside.For a van/narrow boat/yacht etc this stove is ideal, especially at the price.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Clarke potbelly stove standard size (page 1 of 2)

  • Perfec

    Jon Wyatt 10 months ago

    Perfect for my outhouse. Bought one 20 years ago used all winter every winter burnt coal on it mostly. its just burnt through and I need another one and I can t get one . Really gutted.

    Stove expert replied: Good service provided by this product.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Money up in flames........!!

    Martin Irwin 2 years ago

    I should have read some of these reviews before buying. I've had this stove professionally fitted, with all the correct flues etc. This stove had no adequate controls whatsoever. If stuffed
    to the neck with hardwood, it lasts for 9 minutes......... By the time I've cut more timber, is all but burnt out. I now see why this is cheap....... a truly awful product.

    Stove expert replied: It may not be the stove but a high flue draw that is too strong, check this before you warp the stove. A stove should be controllable so that a steady flame picture can be achieved. If the flue draw is excessive a damper or flue stabiliser will need to be added.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Clarke Potbelly Stove

    John Roberts 5 years ago

    Very poor quality stove. The stove needs to be almost constantly fed with wood because the burn-rate cannot be controlled due to leaks.

    Stove expert replied: Check the flue draw as it may not be the stove at fault!

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Clarkes pot belly stove

    John Brown 5 years ago

    Have just fitted this stove to my garage and am very disappointed as it has to be constantly tended. It burns far too quickly and has to be restocked every 15-20 minutes. Its practically
    impossible to control the air flow it just roars away regardless ... unless you close everything then it goes out. I have tried a myriad of woods, seasoned, soft, hard ... even smoke free fuel and it struggles to warm my one car sized garage. In its defence it burns wood, extremely quickly and efficiently.

    Stove expert replied: Perhaps you need a damper in the flue to get more control if all the seals on the stove are operating correctly.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • replacement grid

    Dave 6 years ago

    I've had mine for few years now and burnt wood only. I'm very satisfied customer but the grid at the bottom has snapped couple of days ago. Still using it but not sure for how long. Is there a way of replacing the grid or do I need to get a new stove altogether? Any advice is welcome. Many thanks
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • cheap n cheerful

    R Welch 8 years ago

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Clarke standard pot belly stove

    Craig 9 years ago

    I bought this stove for a reasonably large outbuilding, after great expense to have professionally installed the stove is totally uncontrollable with regards to burn rate. Air control does not
    exist. Fuel chamber is so small it is more time consuming cutting small pieces of fuel and burns so quickly needs re fueling every ten minutes. I am very disappointed in this stove and do not recommend anyone to buy it!
    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Clarkes 'multi-fuel' stove

    Alan Reeve 9 years ago

    A very cheap stove that, while it gives off quite a lot of heat, needs constant feeding. It claims to be multi-fuel, but burning anything other than wood - such as coal - risks the stove overheating
    and cracking (as I have discovered). It may be OK for occasional use,m but definitely not where you need to use it regularly. I would not buy one again - as other reviewers have indicated: you get what you pay for.
    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Clarke potbelly stove standard size

    Dr Andrew Clemmit Chambers 10 years ago

    Cheap black finish burns off right away good for heating vans sheds ect. this thing will never burn over night has to be topped up around every 30min.The unit sucks in far to much air even with
    the bottom vent closed as the parts are a poor fit. I wood not buy this or any other clarke woodburner again.

    Stove expert replied: As with many things you often get what you pay for when it comes to stoves. As long as you realise this when purchasing then the cheaper end of the market does of course have its place, just don't expect it to perform as well as a higher end model.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2