WhatStove?

Charnwood Cove 2 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 11 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood Cove 2 stove

The Charnwood Cove 2 has a large single curved door with large glass panel . The grate converts for wood or multifuel uses. The Cove 2 gives 8kw of heat to the room using the cleanburn technology, and the airwash helps to keep the glass clean.

There are three different base options, low stand, store stand or centre stand. The picture shows the centre stand. The low stand allows the stove to fit into an existing fireplace opening, the store stand allows for logs to be placed beneath the stove, whereas the centre stand is for a freestanding situation.

Technical Data
  • Height: 662mm
  • Width: 554mm
  • Depth: 406mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Cove 2b

    4 years ago

    Bought this stove 2 years ago , I've had Aarrow and Hunters before , sorry to say I have removed the Cove 2 b as I found it wouldn't draw properly it needed an air flow on the door I'd say ,
    I've replaced it with another Aarrow and after 2 years of struggling to get hot water and radiators we are now struggling to stay cool , the Cove looks nice but I wouldn't have another one and I paid around £2000 2 years ago and had to pay again to stay warm this winter so a waste of money , I've had stoves for 25 years and this was the worst so far
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Hot Contender

    R Thomas 12 years ago

    Had this stove in use for two years. Easy to light, the single combined air control couldn't be more user friendly, equally at home burning wood or smokeless coal using clever grate changer.
    Looks good and gives out plenty of easily controllable heat. Glass air wash system works well though occasional glass cleaning still cleaning needed which takes no more than a couple of minutes. A fine product.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood Cove 2 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Excellent Multifuel Option

    5 years ago

    Installed in a new build and have provided reliable heat for 10 years - mainly from wood. I have replaced the door rope (our fault not the stove) and the fire bricks. Excellent after sales service

    Stove expert replied: Regular checks on consumable parts should be undertaken on stoves and the rope seals replaced when they get hard and loose the ability to seal with the stove body effectively.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • messy but pleased

    Andy Gray 6 years ago

    Where as the charnwood cove 2 burns the wood to the last breath and we're so pleased with the heat output and overall look of the stove.....how ever the cove 2 is just as messy and still spreads
    ash every where when one opens the door regardless of whether the pan is full or not,. but I can put up with this as the stove is faultless otherwise
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Overall a good stove

    Gareth Maxwell 6 years ago

    We bought this stove two years ago and initially struggled a bit with it (more my ability I think). It does have a very easy air flow mechanism through one single air control valve. We did a
    couple of things that have vastly improved its performance:1. Buy a stove Thermometer, especially if you are a novice, it really helps you to see just how hot the stove is and makes your wood pile last longer.2. Buy a Stove top fan, this made a massive difference to its output and really pushes the heat around the room and out of our door into the hallway.3. Use seasoned wood only and a mix of soft and hard, it does take some practice to get it up to temperature.The looks of the stove are lovely and it heats our fairly large room (3m x 10m x 3m) which is also semi open plan. We chose this stove as it is a good output for a fairly small opening.It also seems extremely well built. The single air control makes the general running of the stove very easy once it is up to heat.Overall, its a great stove and I would definitely buy another one (in fact I'm considering it for our other lounge)
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Poorly designed stove

    William Pedder 7 years ago

    I find two main problems with this stove - and I have experience of others. Firstly, it spews ash all around. Ash gets down the side of the ash pan and falls out when you pull out the pan. It accumulates on the inside of the door ledges so that when you open the door the ash is distributed in front of the stove. Secondly, the airwash over the glass is insufficient to keep the glass clean.

    Stove expert replied: Are you using well seasoned wood as damp wood will blacken the glass with the most efficient air wash system.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Excellent Boiler Stove

    Philip Preen 8 years ago

    Have the Cove 2B (the boiler version) connected to a 300 ltr thermal store. Stove is really easy to light if using properly seasoned wood. Currently using smokeless coal easy to light if using some kindling. The boiler control regulates the air supply to the firebed. Once the system is up to temperature (65 degree flow - 55 degree return) the thermostat closes down and regulates the water temperature. All running on a gravity circuit. Air wash works well once stove is warm - generally leave fully open until fire is going well then close to 25% if burning smokeless coal and 50-75% when burning wood. Overnight burning excellent if banking up with fuel and riddling before retiring for the night. Have only used smokeless coal overnight so cannot comment on wood. Also by late evening the thermal store is up to temperature and therefore the stove is only keeping the system warm overnight so fire generally in slumber mode. Ash pan is a little small as ash will drop down at the sides so makes a mess when emptying (our other stove stovax stockton 6 has an ash pan that runs the entire width of the stove) The fire grate extends 1-2" over the edges of the ash pan on this stove. Also the ash pan is shallower than I would like. This is a boiler stove and during the winter will remain lit for 12-14 hrs a day - this produces a lot of ash, so a bigger ash pan would have been good. Sometimes need to empty twice a day. Build quality is very good with smooth operation of all controls and door handle. We have the log store stand which holds enough fuel for about 4-5 hrs of burning. Overall very pleased with the stove and would buy from Charnwood again.

    Stove expert replied: Would recommend emptying the ash pan twice a day if using smokeless fuel and burning for most of the time so that the grate will last longer. If ash builds up under the grates it can shorten the life of it as also so can over-riddling the stove. Ideally leave a bed of ash on top of the grates to protect them from direct heat.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • The complete package

    O Parkes 9 years ago

    We bought the stove 3 or so years ago and are delighted with it. It's situated in a 3.5m x 6.5m room and the heat it chucks out means that closing the door makes the room uncomfortably warm -
    all good of course, as it heats the rest of the house as well. Last Xmas Day (-10 degrehttp://www.whatstove.co.uk/es) our condensate pipe froze and shut the boiler down but the burner did an admirable job of heating the house with the help of a couple of oil-filled rads in the bedrooms.Lighting it is a breeze - I don't bother with bought kindling or firelighters, just split down a log and scrunch up about 4 sheets of newspaper.Control ability is excellent - the single control lever is simple to use but also nicely sensitive. You can have it roaring away or ticking over on a nice low grumble, and all points in between. Log consumption is pretty good, though obviously depends on the type of log you're burning. (Seasoned Leylandii is probably about 1.5 logs per hour, seasoned oak somewhat less. I would expect to burn a basket in 6-8 hours I guess, although that's just an estimate.) I never aim to burn it overnight and tend to go to bed with around half a log or less left to burn. Nevertheless, it's often warm in the morning and I could probably shake it into life if I wanted.Looks shouldn't be important but I must confess that they did play a large part in our purchase decision. For my money, it's easily the most handsome burner out there even on the low stand (we sadly didn't have the height for the log store stand).The removable handle is a really good idea and the multifuel grate seems impressive, although I only ever burn wood.We also use the rear flue pipe adaptor, which is a neat bit of kit.Overall, a great stove that does justify its high cost.

    Stove expert replied: Good all round review, fair comments and all in all a good stove with good results.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Ticks all the boxes...

    Adie Morrow 9 years ago

    We bought this item 3 years ago for a fireplace in the hall and it has transformed the centre of the house in a number of ways...firstly looks and secondly heat.It is very easy to light and
    once lit easy to maintain and control.The output is very good and it stays in overnight with ease.It's quality build and finish is difficult to fault and my only wish is that I could lay my hands on a double sided Charnwood for my Lounge which is the reason I have found this site.I would without hesitation recommend this item to family, friends and those looking for value for money...P.S. Come on Charnwood produce a doublesided 12kw stove...
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Looks great

    Priscilla So 12 years ago

    I picked this stove because of its burning efficiency and the way it looks. I chose it without a stand and it sits nicely in a squared off fire place with a slate hearth. The large window is
    fab and the flames are beautiful. I mainly burn wood but have burnt ecoal on it with equal success. The window seems to stay very clean - it definitely makes a difference if you use substandard wood on it. The window is easily cleaned the the one handle does all is a nice design.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • The best so far.

    Steve Davies 12 years ago

    Great stove.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2