WhatStove?

Charnwood Cove 1 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 15 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood Cove 1 stove

The Cove 1 is a classic multifuel stove from Charnwood with nice rounded corners and cast iron door.

Technical Data
  • Height: 546mm
  • Width: 423mm
  • Depth: 352mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Great Little Stove

    John Beardmore 6 years ago

    The cost is high even when I got an ex display stove at good price. It is a great stove though I am unsure if it is worth over double the price of my little Stovax. That is a lot of fuel I could
    buy (if I did)
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Love it

    Yvonne 9 years ago

    Lights easily (with newspaper page, firelighters and kindling - damper pulled right out), glass stays very clear whilst burning wood fiercely, once you turn it almost down with wood or peat the bottom will blacken a little, but the top stays nice and clear to view the flames. The glass does blacken if the fire is damped down overnight/when you're going out but is very easily cleaned with a damp rag dipped in ash. The fire doesn't burn overnight with wood or peat, but on a wood or peat bed of ash chuck in 15 ovoids (remember to change riddle to coal setting)at bedtime and the fire will be so hot in the morning you can only hold your hand on it for a few seconds - chuck in another 5 ovoids and it will stay hot to the touch all day for you coming in at night. After lighting and after feeding (every 15 minutes maybe) for around an hour or so and establishing a good ash bed, it belts out so much heat, we need to turn it down to a couple of milimeters before the last ridge line, then only feed it one chunk of wood or one chunk of peat every 40 minutes or so (in a 4m x 5m normal height ceiling room - with the door open!) After a few hours it seems to heat the whole house. I love the look of it, we chose the log stand version (it came extremely well packaged on a small wooden pallet - very very heavy). It has brought so much life into the room and is the heart of the house.

    Stove expert replied: Always do short periods of fast burn (15mins) at least twice a day to burn off residues that are produced during slow burning periods.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood Cove 1 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Disappointing Charnwood

    Hugo Warner 7 years ago

    I guess if you have no issues this might be a good stove, but frankly as we have had plenty of issues we would not recommend this stove. Firstly no stove plate turned up with the stove, then when it did there was another part missing which when that arrived turned out to be wrong. Very poor service. Would not recommend.
    Overall rating:

    0.5 flames

  • Small but perfectly formed

    Josh Crandon 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Unpleasant surprise

    Michael 9 years ago

    Normally one should only discuss the stove, well that's a quick one, everything is more or less fine there unless you're on a budget.There is however one thing that really should be mentioned
    with these stoves as it not apparent in brochures and no-one will tell you, the flue piping sold for the stove is not as shown on the photoshop images. Each length has a very thick, rather ugly collar to receive the next length so if you are installing a free-standing stove with a visible chimney of longer than 90cm, be aware that you will not be getting a nice uniform vertical column as a chimney and also that you will have to saw off the top collar to connect the flue to your main chimney (not a fun job as the flues are surprisingly thick). Better to buy normal piping elsewhere. Spray paint is sold for colour-matching the flues to the stove.

    Stove expert replied: Brochures will always show a stove at its ideal, not always possible in real life. Worth discussing with installer or flue expert if you are wanting something specific!

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Cove1

    Nick Sellers 9 years ago

    Grest little stove. Not tried to keep it in overnight as I dont need to. Just burnt kiln dried offcuts from a sawmill so far which are great along with a few briquettes.Had the stove finished
    in the Ivory colour which looks superb until youve opened the door a few times and the paint wears off the knob. A bit poor for a £1000 stove, I had a country 16b in my last house and the only issue I had was the paint finish. Overall very happy and when we do our new build next year I will seriously consider a cove 2 or 3
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Cove 1

    R Allison 10 years ago

    Excellent wee stove- don't be put off by it's size, it belts out some heat & is very easy to control. Air wash works great. Just an all round brilliant stove!\n\n

    Stove expert replied: Size does not always matter and this is a case in point!! Great review.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Cove 1sr

    Ian Benn 10 years ago

    I previously posted a review of the Cove 1sr which highlighted a problem that I experienced with my stove. There was a lack of control of the rate of burn using the control rod and I was obliged
    to use the door to feed or reduce airflow.Since this time Charnwood have come to the rescue and fitted a modified/redesigned airbox which has cured the problem entirely.I now have proper control over the rate of burn of fuel and therefore the heat output.The airwash system is working and was able to clean a blackened glass within a short time of burning at the higher rate.There still remains an inability to shut the appliance down completely using the control rod, but I am told that this is a feature of all smoke reduction kits.Given this minor problem I am now more than satisfied with the performance of our stove and would recommend the Cove 1sr to any prospective purchaser.They do bang out some heat for a small stove!

    Stove expert replied: Glad to hear that a manufacturers modification has sorted the problem. It's good that improvements are continually being made and that manufactures are listening to their customers.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Cove 1

    Ray Beardow 10 years ago

    would definitely buy again

    Stove expert replied: Good review. Thanks

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • charnwood cove1 multifuel?

    Chris Gee 10 years ago

    fitted the stove in November ('10) replacing a Franco Belge belfort.It is advertised as a multifuel and is certainly capable of burning wood and smokeless fuel. I tend to use smokeless fuel
    predominantly.The stove looks good, is well made and the airwash system keeps the glass spotless. Unlike wood, if the ash of smokeless fuel is allowed to build up, the fire will go out. When the riddling system is operated to remove the ash a surprising amount of partly burnt fuel is dropped into the ash pan, leaving a choice to either throw it away or to sieve the ash and raturn the unburnt fuel to the stove; neither of which is really satisfactory. I would recommend the Cove1 as a wood burner but not very highly for anyone wishing primarily to use smokeless fuel particulrly for overnighting.

    Stove expert replied: It can be difficult to get a happy medium when wanting to use a mixture of fuels. The secret is not to riddle too much as then unburnt fuel will not fall into the ashpan. A light riddle should be enough to allow the air to move through the fuel to keep the burning process alive. Wood needs and over draught whereas smokeless fuel requires an under draught, wood needs the bed of ash and the smokeless needs air through it to ensure the burning process can continue so hence mixing fuels can cause difficulties. Perhaps use wood more when you are around to refuel more frequently and then use the smokeless for the overnight burn if required when attending the stove is not possible.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2