WhatStove?

Charnwood Country 8 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood Country 8 stove

The Charnwood Country 8 stove is a plain stove with 2 doors.

The doors are placed on an angle- forming a V-shape on the front of the stove.

The Charnwood stoves are available as wood or multi fuel models

&

you can get them in a range of different colours.

Back boilers are available for the Country range.

Technical Data
  • Height: 614mm
  • Width: 526mm
  • Depth: 450mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Excellent stoves, Country range

    Deborah White 4 months ago

    Have had a Country 12 for ten years. Easy to use and maintain, brilliant heat. It is in sitting room of large house and warmth goes upstairs too. Need to check throat plate is securely in
    place when dislodge it with a carelessly loaded large log. Small price to pay for ease of cleaning afforded by the throat plate. Glass only blackens when air circulation too closed. Happens with changing external air currents. Glass very easy to clean with a little Astonish oven cleaner. Overall a five star wood burner.

    Stove expert replied: Great review, a good heat source for the house it seems!

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • BRILLIANT STOVE

    Jane Cooper

    We went into buying a stove with a lot of intrepidation but having bought one I wish we had done so years ago. Superb control, amazing heat, looks great, easy to light (only tried really dry
    logs). We havn't tried to keep fire in overnight as its so easy to light again (reason for low score) No hesitation in recommending this stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood Country 8 stove

  • good but

    Andrew Mne 5 years ago

    Good stove but the only problem is its impossible to keep the glass clean even with the airwash it always blackens up. Any tips would be appreciated
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Disappointing

    John Wheatley 8 years ago

    I've had this fire for several years and the biggest problem by far is the throat plate. I must have bought at least four replacements and I need to do the same again. The front of the plate perches on two pegs. You know your heading for trouble when, of its own free will, the plate drops into the fire. This is a sign it is starting to buckle. And my word do they know how to buckle! Every this way and the other and I have even had one have an egg size hole. I have made a couple of plates to hold the thing in the air. In the early days I took this up with the supplier and the manufacturer; but met with total apathy from both. This winter the bottom rear rail has gone banana shape and this is a substantial piece of metal, probably a casting. It is in the coolest (if there is such a thing in a stove!) part of the fire, so how has that happened? At the moment I feel inclined to put my £100 for spare parts towards another fire.

    Stove expert replied: As you are having continued failures it may pay to look at the installation, perhaps you have a strong draw on the flue which means that the stove is getting too hot. Perhaps get a stove thermostat to check this out. Other causes can be fuel, this might be worth changing to see if it aids the situation.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Long lasting

    Susan 9 years ago

    I've had a Charnwood 8 for over 18 years and it has never failed me. The glass blackens up but I think thats because I don't use the airwash as I should but never bothered me. Have never had any problems with the seal, just the air slides which used to get stiff when we used coal but now mostly use wood. Worthwhile in summer taking off the doors and giving them a good clean in the garden. It's not the only source of heating in the room but it has been several times when the central heating has broken down, one year 3 days before Christmas so have left it burning overnight without any problems, although have never burned just wood overnight added just a base of coal. Have recently replaced the griddle supports and Charnwood could not have been more helpful as it was an old model but great they can still supply the parts. Charnwood is a little more expensive than other models but I consider it well worth it after 18 years hopefully it will last many more.

    Stove expert replied: A long lasting stove that will have certainly given good value for money!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Charnwood 8

    D Graham 9 years ago

    I now have a 6 and an 8 and am delighted with both. Good value for money and British made.\n\n

    Stove expert replied: Good review for this British made stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • charnwood country 8

    John Sinclair 10 years ago

    good quality stove, can control very quickly, gives out very good heat\n\n

    Stove expert replied: Good review, does what it says it will do.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • a quality stove

    Simon 11 years ago

    an excellent stove if a little expensive
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • charnwood

    S.ridley 12 years ago

    briliant, never been cold since putting it in. Looks great, cosy, clean, what more can i say. very efficient
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames