WhatStove?

Charnwood Country 6 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 10 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood Country 6 stove

The Charnwood Country 6 stove is a 6kw stove.

All the Country range are available as wood or multi fuel models - you can also get a multi fuel kit for the wood burning model.

This Charnwood stove has got 2 doors - with a glass window in each door.

The Charnwood 6 is available as a back boiler model as well & can therefore be connected to the central heating system.

Technical Data
  • Height: 605mm
  • Width: 510mm
  • Depth: 363mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 5 flames
Ease of use 5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 5 flames
How well does the airwash work 5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Clean and easy to use

    Robert Smith 3 years ago

    I have two burners. This one and a Stovax Stockton 6, also a good burner. Accept maybe on efficiency, the Country 6 wins on everything else. Looks great, easy to clean, good air wash, handle
    doesn't get too hot and large firebox. If it fits, buy it!

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments, nice to be able to compare models.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • smell from top of stove

    Brendan Merrigan 10 years ago

    I have this model for 4 years, has worked well during that time except for this year. I used cut up varnished floorboards at the start of this winter, used in maybe 2-3 fires until i noticed
    a bad smell from the stove. The stove got very hot during this time. I have since used the stove approx 10 times and the smell is persisting. I have changed the fuel from house coal to smokeless coal with no positive results. The chimney has been swept twice and all joints sealed. No smoke in firebox.Stove expert update: with help from Whatstove and the manufacturer the problem has been solved. The solution was rubbing the top of the stove down and respraying (supplied by manufacturer). Very occasionally the paint from a stove can carry on smelling after the first firings. The usual solution is to burn the stove hard for several hours. This did not work in this case and so rubbing down worked. It may either have been the paint or it could have been some other substance which got onto the top of the stove. The smell has now gone.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood Country 6 stove

  • Tremendous Service

    Nick Gardner 3 years ago

    This little log burner has given our family tremendous service for over 25 years!!! All I have done is change the fire cheeks twice and the rope around the glass once. This year I decided to
    ask a local guy to give it an overhaul, that cost me £200.00 and after the re-spray it looks as good as new. Great little log burner!!

    Stove expert replied: Wow, great service and the cost of refurbishing if you break it down to the length of service seems money well spent.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Charnwoord Country six

    Jason Quigley 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Impressive stove

    Robert Barton 8 years ago

    We removed a Country 4 which to be honest I did not rate but fitted Country 6 after widening the fire place. I am very impressed with it, we have to run it on low most of the time due to the
    heat it pushes out. Door glass self cleans very easily. Uses minimal fuel. Would definitely recommend. My only issue is the door latch as it gets very easy to open when hot.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great Stove

    Darryl Hall 8 years ago

    The only downside is because you have a "tool" to open and close the door opening knobs this soon wears off the paint on the little door knobs, but still doesn't detract anything from the stove
    . I did however mention this by email to the Charnwood dealer shortly after purchase and a week later I have a very large tin of Charnwood touch up paint for the knobs, again another example of excellent customer service.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • stove

    Ann Mcmurray 8 years ago

    we really love this stove and would recomend it we light it every night we now have it 7 years
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Charnwood country 6

    Pat Hart 10 years ago

    Excellent stove - doors do not black up - air-wash works well, very efficient burning of both coal and wood. Have had this stove in for about four years now and it hasn't let me down. Would
    definitely recommend this make and model.

    Stove expert replied: Wow, top marks. Nothing more to say on this outstanding feedback.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Old Charnwood County 6

    John 10 years ago

    Thought I would leave a review of my old stove before I buy a new one. We have had the stove for almost 14 years now, in that time we have replaced the fire bricks once and the throat plate
    once. Although these will need to be done again by the new owner (still serviceable). We have experienced problems with door seals on a regular basis. Easily fixed and not difficult to do. We have found the stove to be fairly controllable, but due to exposed position of the property it varies on the amount of wind outside. The stove has the drop in coal grate, currently on the second on of those but it has had little use as wood is our preferred fuel of choice. I have not had many problems lighting the stove. Only on the odd occasion has it failed to light, wet kindling damp paper.... So hardly the stoves fault. It is easy to use and the air wash is effective, not so good with damp fuel. Again nothing to do with the stove. The stove is quite controllable, depends on the state of the rope door seals. Easy to operate and with a large fire box which can accommodate a large log. Will burn overnight without too many failures. Just rake over the embers bit of kindling and off it goes. Good stove all round.

    Stove expert replied: Old timer but does what it needs to!! The key to the prolonged life is maintenance!!

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Country 6 Stove in Almond colour

    Barry Peppiatt 12 years ago

    We are very disappointed with the Almond colour finish , we thought that it would be more like the normal enamelled finish as seen on most colour finished stoves, the Charnwood finish is very
    flat in appearance and detracts from the excellent woodburning stove that the Country 6 model is. The finish has completely rubbed off at the handle position within 2 months of use. We are avid stove owners (we have bought 4 stoves so far as we would not have a home without one) and this stove is an excellent choice operationally, the double doors are particularly useful for proving ease of access during fuelling & cleaning.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames