WhatStove?

Charnwood Island III stove

Overall Rating:

3 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood Island III stove

The Charnwood Island III is the largest in the Island range having an output of 12 kw. Logs of 550mm in length will fit through the doors. The grate converts for either wood or multifuel use.

Technical Data
  • Height: 713mm
  • Width: 732mm
  • Depth: 400mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 3.5 flames
Value for money 2.5 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 3.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 2.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 2.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 2.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Beautiful but tricky to light

    Helen Hall 3 years ago

    This stove replaced an ageing Waterford multi fuel so not a comparison with this stove as we only burn wood on the Charnwood.Aesthetically the Charnwood is stunning and when lit and running
    well it looks fantastic. However at times, and it is really difficult to know when these times might be, it is tricky to light and I seem to spend a lot of time cracking the doors open, then closing, then opening as sometimes it goes out. I am sure there is a way to do this better than I am. The installation was top notch and the same company had installed another stove for us a few years back, by another manufacturer also beginning in C. This one is very straightforward but the kw not as great and the draw naturally better as it is joined to the main chimney system whilst the Charnwood is in a single storey extension albeit the flue extends to 1 1/2 metres above the roof apex.Would I buy again? Yes, I love it, but it does have its moments.

    Stove expert replied: The reason for the difficulties sounds like it is because the stove is in a single storey and hence with have a shorter flue, this will mean that the main chimney has a better draw and will affect this stove even if in another part of the property. Lengthening the flue system may help but a flue draw test may confirm this is the issue. The weather conditions may also affect the flue draw. If it continues to be a problem then a flue fan could be added to be used when required as it appears not to be a continuous problem. This is not a fault with the stove but an installation issue.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Charnwood island 3

    Chris 12 years ago

    I replaced an old (huge) Morso stove which was jolly good, but had solid doors and so spat burning embers on the living room floor. The Morso was in effect an open fire with no control, it took
    'skill' to get it going, and needed to be re loaded before it got too low. .... The Island 3 has a control knob, this can shut the fire down when closed, and when open produces a super charged effect ! the result is easy lighting with minimal sticks, and a pleasing slow flame burn when it is going, and shut down a bit. It chucks out loads of heat, I sit 10 -12 feet away from the stove and need to peel layers of clothes off within 30 mins, it is also quite frugal on log consumption, eating less than the old morso. Down sides so far: I have a cream colored stove, so it doesn't look hot, so have burnt my hands on the doors ... (stupid but easy)when re loading the fire you have to open the doors very slowly or you get covered in hot ash !!! but this is prob the same for all fires with doors.The 'airwash' works well ..... but you will need to clean the glass frequently another job to do if you are used to an open fireIf you want a good sized log burner I don't think you will be disappointed .Pricey .... yes .... but nice build quality, good looking, and works well.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Charnwood Island III stove (page 1 of 2)

  • disappointed

    Charlotte Bennett 3 years ago

    I got our Island 3 secondhand in perfect only 5 burns condition. We have moved it to its 3rd position in our house, following renovation work and changing our rooms around. This stove is so
    disappointing, it does not draw well or really give out any great heat for its size. The ash blows out when the door opens and also falls out over the low front bar, so the room(s) are covered in fine ash dust. As it has had 3 different flues; 2 up concrete lined chimneys (1850''s farmhouse)and now a flue going up and then out exterior wall and above roof line, I feel I can say it''s not the installation, it is the stove. We have a Country 8 in one of the other chimney flues and it roars away. I wish I had never purchased it and had got a Clearview instead. Charnwood customer service not helpful.

    Stove expert replied: Has the stove never given out the expected heat and is it the right kW for the space you are trying to heat? The installation will be key, especially as you have another working flue in the property which may be preventing this flue from working effectively. If the other flue has a stronger draw then this can prevent this flue from lifting the gases away and will give a sluggish stove and poor performance. The fuel will also be important and wood needs to be dry and well seasoned with a moisture content of less than 20%.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Water jacket

    5 years ago

    I have bought this one year old wood burner from an online company second hand. It is excellent condition and perfect for what I want however it has a water jacket and I don't really have the
    requirement to install it to the heating system, will I damage the fire not using the water function, are there pre requisits for doing this?

    Stove expert replied: A boiler stove must not be used as a dry stove and it is not recommended to be used in this way. There is potential for problems when it is not connected to a water system and should only be used when installed for the purpose that it was manufactured for..

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • OK stove for a premium price

    Dave Woods 5 years ago

    I wish Charnwood would spend as much effort on sweating the little details of the Charnwood Island III as they spend on their high-gloss advertising. A couple of extra cm in the length of the
    glass (which the stove was designed to accommodate) would have allowed them to mount the brackets that hold the glass out of the viewing field, which makes getting the glass completely clean nearly impossible. The rope seals for the glass overlap the glass and can be seen from outside the stove. Would a drop of Lock-tite on the throttle button, so it doesn't unthread itself, have broken the bank? On the plus side, the single lever control works extremely well and adjusts the intensity of the flame in fine increments. The large doors allow an excellent view of the fire. Mine burns timber so fast (no boiler, btw) that we've nicknamed it the Oliver Cromwell, as it will single-handedly deforest this island in it's lifetime. I find the internal dimensions awkward; the wide and surprisingly shallow burn area makes for awkward loading of fuel. Ticks loudly as the box expands from heat. I don't think this is as premium a stove as their advertising makes their products appear.

    Stove expert replied: If the stove is working hard all the time with little control do get the flue draw tested to ensure that it is not in excess of the recommended strength in the manual, this can have an adverse affect on the stove and the components used therein.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • reasonably happy but ovepriced!

    Peter Quinn 7 years ago

    Bought this stove in an Irish outlet. Seems to work reasonably...but...ordered it in almond assuming it would arrive in Ireland with a factory painted stove...especially for 2,700 euro!!!,
    only to find out that it is not factory painted but done locally.....by spray...not done very well and had to buy an extra cannister for 24 euro and do some myself...as the local company was amateurish in its application...my old aunt could have done better!!! ended up by touching up missed bits and trying to get rid of over painted bits!!! Insist on factory painted job.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • very disappointed - cold, dirty glass, hard to keep lit

    Carolyn Brown 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Disappointed.....

    Steve Jemmett-Page 7 years ago

    There is some fundamental design flaw with this stove. It looks lovely, but it is just unsatisfactory at doing its job. In my opinion too much emphasis on fancy technology, not enough on getting
    heat out of wood.

    Stove expert replied: It does sound as if you may have a poor draw on the flue system as you should not get ash blowing back into the room when you open the door. Have you adequate air in the room for the size of stove? Is the chimney lined? The installation should be checked to insure that it matches the requirements of the manufacturer.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • island 3

    D George 9 years ago

    I've had an Island 3 for few years now and am happy with it. The 3 means you can put very large lumps of wood on which saves time and energy having to cut every thing down to size. Yes the glass gets dirty but after all it is a fire, every now and then, if you are that fussy, simply lift doors off and wipe on oven pride jelly and seal in bag provided over night then clean off with cloth comes off in seconds. Or sometimes give it a good burn on full choke to clean. The heat is very good I have a 25ft by 19ft living room with a cold stone wall construction and it does the job. Parts are easy to get and reasonably priced my wife forced door shut on what must have been half a tree and cracked glass, had one within 2 days in post and it only took 5 mins to fit easily. Built mine with twin wall steel flue which is internal through house then out of roof acts like radiator in house.

    Stove expert replied: Do not use anything but glass cleaner, woodash or a cloth dipped in vinegar otherwise a chemical reaction may occur with the casting of the door. Burn only dry seasoned timber of not more than 100mm diam and you should have clean glass all day long. Always give a woodburner short periods of fast burn at least twice in every 24 hours to clean off an residues that are produced in the slow burning periods.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Getting rid of brown windows

    Sarah Falkland 9 years ago

    I have the cream coloured Charnwood Island stove. Yes the windows go all brown from the fire. However, a friend of mine has a sparkly clean window. His secret? A quick wipe down with Mr Muscle
    oven cleaner on a piece of kitchen towel. Does the trick brilliantly and window is lovely and clean so you can see your flames dancing away once more!I'd be really grateful is anyone has any tips about how to clean the cream doors and framework though...
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Charnwood III

    K Maciver 10 years ago

    Pretty good heat but the logs must be very dry. Wet sticks are hopeless unlike a good old open fire.Airwash is very disappointing, must be a sales con because it doesn't seem to work - lots
    of brown glass which is almost impossible to clean properly.Not sure it is worth the high price tag.Relaoding is a pain unless all signs of a flame are gone.Like an open fire it take a good bit of cleaning each day

    Stove expert replied: Damp / wet fuel should not be used on any closed appliance as it will prevent it from working effectively, tar up the firebox and turn the glass black. Only use wood that is less than 20% moisture content, perhaps a moisture meter would be a good purchase! To clean glass use a cloth dipped in wood ash or vinegar to remove deposits. Give stove short periods of fast burn to minimize deposits forming on the glass, say 15-20 mins each use once you have an established fire.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2