WhatStove?

Charnwood C 6 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 6 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Charnwood C 6 stove

The Charnwood C series stoves have a contemporary simple design -

available with an optional log box making the stove taller -

You can have this stove as a pure wood burner or a multi fuel stove with an ashpan and grate.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Great little log burner

    Debbie Stimpson 4 years ago

    We had our C6 fitted in Jan 2016. We have no issues with this stove. It''s great to light and the air flow control does what it says ''controls the flow'' It heats our lounge perfectly......

    Stove expert replied: A few good comments for the C6 stove.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Charnwood C6

    Charles Price 7 years ago

    Lovely little stove, very easy to light with simple controls. Need a full time stoker to keep feeding the logs in, and that is hardwood ! Air control makes difference from open to the 'click', but no change when closed right down, hence have used all my logs in 2 days. Airflow making a rather alarming humming / roaring noise, so I suspect a lot of heat disappearing up the chimney.

    Stove expert replied: Perhaps you should get a damper on the flue so that you can control the rate of burn. Speak to your installer as if the stove is working hard all the time you may be over-firing it and this can lead to damage to the unit.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Charnwood C 6 stove

  • Very disappointed

    Richard Angel 4 years ago

    I'm amazed at reading the other reviews, I agree that the stove burns through logs very quickly which is not great but worse still it just doesn't heat our 6m x 4m room at all, you can sit directly
    in front of the stove without feeling hot! I've got my installer coming back for a second time but they so far haven't been able to find an issue. The installer initially recommend a lower kw stove to us but we went for the larger C6 as we have ventilation in the room. I previously installed a 5Kw Chesney stove in a similar size room at my old house which was amazing. I'd think twice about buying a Charnwood C6, I am considering changing for a Clearview.

    Stove expert replied: Do have a flue draw test taken as it is likely to be the cause of the problem if the stove is eating fuel without producing much heat and with little control, the flue draw is critical to know. If it exceeds the manufacturers guidance then a damper or stabilizer can be added to gain better control. This is not the fault then of the stove but down to the installation.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • GREAT STOVE

    4 years ago

    As some people have mentioned these stoves do go through the fuel fairly quick, I refuel it every 45mins to a little over and hour. But that doesn't seem to be different to other stoves my friends
    have. Also I agree the slow burn setting still lets a fair bit of air in, I very much doubt you could get this to burn over night on wood. I'm sure a clear view might be more efficient but they don't look half as nice in my opinion. Over all I'm really happy with it, it looks great, is easy to light and heats up our entire ground floor with ease. Also a good thing is that you can use all the controls without a glove. 10 year guarantee with Charnwood that gives some piece of mind, its nice to use a UK made stove also. I'd advise shopping around for prices, got mine for around £790 in the RRP is around £996.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Not nearly as controlable as I'd like.

    Andrew Munro 6 years ago

    I had this stove installed in August 2014. The stove lights well, but over draws. I've tried well seasoned wood, house coal, smokeless pellets and anthracite lumps. This stove burns through
    EVERYTHING unbelievably quickly. My installer has returned twice to check the installation and draw. Within 4 hours, a full load of coal has turned to ash. My parents, who have a Stockton 6, can run the stove for 18 hours on a full load of coal. I contacted the manufacturer asking for help in controlling the stove, in shutting down the air supply. They told me that as the stove had been approved for smokeless zones, it had a tertiary air supply that could not be shut down, and consequently would burn faster. The room heats up far too quickly, and then either you let the fire go out or you refuel, meaning it gets FAR too hot. I'm on the verge of looking for something like the Stockton Brunel 2CB that looks a lot more controllable. Overall, the stove looks great, no complaints about anything other than ... I can't get it to burn for more than 4 hours on coal before needing a refill. Logs last maybe 40-55 minutes depending on size. I want to love this stove - it looks great.....
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Slightly Dissapionted

    John Rennie 7 years ago

    I have an installer coming to look at his stove as the back plate is buckled, this was brought to my attention by chimney sweep, when he tried to remove the throat plate. It is only 3 years
    old and I feel it should not happen, the metal on the back plate does not seem to be heavy enough.

    Stove expert replied: Metal internal components may fail from overfiring of the stove which should be checked out in more depth to insure future failures are prevented. Consumable items will require replacement from time to time depending on their usage.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames