WhatStove?

Aarrow Ecoburn 9 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Aarrow Ecoburn 9 stove

The Aaarrow Ecoburn 9 is a multi fuel stove - it has primary & secondary air supply -

the air can be directed from under the fire grate - when using coal as fuel

or from above when using wood.

The glass window on the single door has a gently curve to the top edge.

Technical Data
  • Height: 598mm
  • Width: 570mm
  • Depth: 370mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 3.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Excellent Stove

    Don Lupton 4 years ago

    The stove provides a major part of our heating each winter and is still in excellent condition with all the original parts, a clear glass and no distortion. I think I may have replaced the door
    seal once, a few years back.

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback and lovely to have hot water as well as space heating from your fire. Stove providing good service!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

More reviews for Aarrow Ecoburn 9 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Backplates a problem

    Elaine Keen 4 years ago

    We have had this burner installed for 13 months and had to replace one or both backplates 4 times already and one has just cracked again.We are experienced with log and multi fuel burners. Never
    ever had to replace any before on any other type or make!

    Stove expert replied: The liners can be used even if cracked providing they are still protecting the metal of the stove. You can use fire cement to join the pieces for longevity of use. Do take extra care when refuelling to prevent hard impacts on them as this can weaken them.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Aarrow Ecoburn Plus 9

    Roy Calderwood 4 years ago

    We have had this stove for over 2 years now. Very attractive stove that fits well into our room. Excellent heat output once lit but I find this stove quite hard to start. I always use my own
    well seasoned wood but I find the air control is not of the standard of my 16 year old Charnwood Country 8. This stove from day one has and continues to give off a constant cracking sound as if the materials of the stove are constantly expanding which is very annoying. Because the back plate is so large and comes so far forward this only leaves a very small gap just above the door for the smoke to enter the chimney flue. This I am told is to aid burning efficiency but I find that if you try to refuel the stove with fuel (say you decode to go out) before the existing contents are almost burnt away the smoke bellows in the room.

    Stove expert replied: Have you an anti-downdraught cowl on the flue system? Is there an airbrick in to room? Are there any other flues in the property? How tall is the flue system? There is normally a reason why when you open the door smoke comes back into the room and it is not normally the stove but other factors to do with the installation.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • aarrow multi-fuel ecoburn plus 9kw

    Raymond Poulidor 7 years ago

    This is an excellent stove. I think it must have recently been upgraded as there are no issues with fire bricks and the reflector plate falling down, it extends well over the edges. It lights
    easily and reaches the optimum temperature quickly. I have been running it for 2 weeks now and the glass is still crystal clear - just using the airwash adjustment with lower vents closed. Plenty of room for good sized logs, chucks out loads of heat and amazingly little ash left in the tray. I would recommend this stove over a Clearview as it looks better, works as well and is nearly half the price.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Review the Aarrow Ecoburn 9 stove

    Mike Daniels 8 years ago

    Overall a very good multifuel stove, it produces a lot of heat but the glass does soot up very easily and the handle gets exceptionally hot.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Poor Design not value for cost

    Dennis Williams 8 years ago

    Having replaced one stove with another we have been very disappointed with the result. Poor design, the steel plate reflector is supported on the fire bricks and has fallen down twice, the
    plate falls foreword when the fire is alight which causes a problem as it is too hot to correct !. I am following the instructions! |The glass also continuously blacks up.

    Stove expert replied: Bring the side liners forward - (do not push them to the back of the stove) and then the baffle plate will have more to sit on and this should prevent it from falling off. The side and back liners should be corner to corner leaving a small gap in the corners but insuring that the metal of the stove is protected fully. Regarding the glass blackening up, is your fuel dry and seasoned? Leave the airwash fully open and this should overcome the problem.

    Overall rating:

    1 flames

  • Throat plate problems

    Ian King 8 years ago

    If you have a boiler the side liners would noramlly sit at the sides edge to boiler edge so that they are more towards the front of the stove rather than being pushed right back. This should
    then give you plenty of liner on which to sit the front of the throat plate, the back resting on the boiler.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • throat plate

    Michael Mahon 10 years ago

    A good working stove. I have two gripes. The throat plate keeps slipping off the side fire bricks at the front and down into the fire and the door handle becomes extremely hot - could it not
    have been made with another material.

    Stove expert replied: Ensure that the side liners are not pushed to the back of the firebox, they should be off the back by approx 1" this should then prevent the throat plate from falling off! The stove is supplied with a mitt to prevent anyone from burning their hands. There used to be a cooler to touch handle but it may not fit this model, worth following up though if causing a problem!

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • ecoburn 9

    Debby Gamble 10 years ago

    I was looking for a fire to replace my old Aarrow one and chose the Ecoburn 9 multifuel. At first I was disappointed because I couldn't get it to stay in overnight. So I removed the grate bars
    , put some firebricks in the bottom of the fire instead, and now I burn my wood fire on top of the firebricks on a thick layer of ash and cinders. It works perfectly. It burns overnight without a problem often on only one big log. In general in cold weather I have it running 24h/24h and just chuck some kindling in, in the morning to start it up again.

    Stove expert replied: There is a designated wood version of this model. Wood tends not to stay in well on the grate system unless mixed with a smokeless product due to the air gaps between the grate. Best to choose a woodburner if wood is being used.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Ecoburn 9 - excellent stove , great value

    Peter Noel 11 years ago

    This stove has been a godsend to us during the current cold spell (Jan 2010).Without it, we would have been in a lot of trouble as we are renovating our home and the central heating
    is out of commission. The stove has met all of our heating needs admirably, and has been a great investment. The landscape format of the stove allows for a wide firebox - less chainsaw work if you cut your own firewood as I do. Put some oak or a bed of coal on last thing at night and it is a cinch to keep the fire in overnight.I'd recommend this stove to anyone who need good output for reasonable value.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2