WhatStove?

Aarrow Ecoburn 7 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 18 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Aarrow Ecoburn 7 stove

The Aarrow Ecoburn 7 stove is a multi fuel stove with a 7kw output.

There is an optional low or high canopy.

You can put the stove on a stand - giving it extra height.

The front has a door with one glass panel in it - the glass has a gentle curve to the top edge.

Technical Data
  • Height: 554mm
  • Width: 461mm
  • Depth: 370mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Cleanliness

    Pat Graham 6 years ago

    I have 5 stoves -all of them Arrow/Stratford in various sizes. I had a Coalbrookdale Much Wenlock for 30 years so I have lots of experience with stoves. These stoves are efficient and in general
    I am happy. BUT the Arrow Ecoburn 7 Stove in my sitting room an Living room create a lot of ash on the surrounding floor due to design of metal plate on front of grate. It is a sloping design and the wood ash gets trapped between this plate and the glass and also in the door. So on opening the door this ash falls on the surrounding fireplace and black tiles. I am forever sweeping it and as it is so fine it's all over the place. This is an absolute nuisance and is a major fault in the design I feel. Also the glass area on front of this plate is forever black. The air vent does not clean it. So PLEASE AARROW design another metal stand up plate so that I can insert one in both stoves and keep my living area relatively clean. I have no problem with the Eco Boiler 16 and the two little Aarrow 5's. No ash fall. Thank you
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Better than watching telly

    Dave Thorley 12 years ago

    We bought a multifuel stove to reduce on heating bills, not having an alternative heat source to our central heating. The Ecoburn 7 was my first choice visually as it doesn't have an old fashioned
    feel to it, while it still retains the right looks for the living room in our 1920's house. The slight curvature and rounded edges also give it a softer, less boxy look. The viewing window is large, the handle easy to use (but use the mitten supplied as it gets hot!)and the controls are simple. Best use of the air vent controls is learnt pretty quickly, once you get used to striking the right balance between air for coal burning with the bottom slider and the top vent for wood burn and the airwash. While the airwash seems reasonably effective you find yourself having to wipe the glass down every few days (a wet wipe works fine), although the sooting could be coal, not wood, related.We tend to use seasoned hard wood to get the temperature sufficiently high to get our coal (supertherm) burning. Once it's going then the level of heat is impressive. We're heating a 20ft by 15ft room with high ceilings. If you overload the fuel then the living room door needs opening to vent some of the heat into the hall. A by-product of the heat is you'll notice surrounding brick work and the upstairs chimney breast are gently warm to the touch so the chill is being taken off the house elsewhere.We've had to run the fire on a daily basis for weeks, and sometimes overnight, because of a sick family member, and performance has been excellent, fuel costs are low compared to gas central heating and we've been able to reduce or switch off heating in the rest of the house, further saving money.I'd recommend this stove to anyone and you'll probably find that you spend more time watching the stove than the TV!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Aarrow Ecoburn 7 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Arrow Ecoburn 7

    George Mcmillan 6 years ago

    Unfortunately those reviews didn't explain that the air control systems didn't really work very well and you can end up over using fuel. It's the only negative I have about the stove but one
    people should be aware off. Still very happy with my choice as it does a good job and in nice to look at.

    Stove expert replied: The controls on a stove do take time to learn and perhaps the addition of a stove thermometer will allow you to find the best setting for optimum efficiency.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • arrow eco burn 7

    Rob Allerton 7 years ago

    Work colleague enthused about his Aarrow Acorn so when it came to buying a stove I put the brand on the list eventually bought an Eco-burn 7 wood burner having a bigger room than theirs. It was new bankrupt BUT stock cost £351 so a good saving got a local Hetas engineer to fit it with liner, cowl and had the flue back filled with vermiculite insulation beads approx £800 Installed two weeks before Christmas 2013 so very new but can only say I am delighted with the stove, it replaced a Rayburn Rembrandt cast iron open fire which was very dusty and time consuming also very costly to run compared to heat generated. The Ecoburn is easy to start, easy to refuel, air-wash works fine wipe the glass over with a wipe as part of the start up process stays clear while logs burning only smears slightly as the stove dies to ash. Once you get used to the controls it thumps out the heat. We burn Oak, Ash, Hawthorn and a lot of softwoods from a local supplier. Room size 17 foot by 14 foot with 9.5 foot ceiling throws out more than enough heat, with room door open it generates heating to hall stairs and landing. CH has been on at very reduced settings however this winter has been very mild on the Fylde coast, if a little wet and "windy". The fire box isn't the largest and I have only managed to get it to stay well lit for about 2.5 hours before refuelling and it won't overnight on logs, have heard the multi-fuel Ecoburn 7 will though? On the star ratings I only gave it 2 for the handle and 3 for the size of firebox all other ratings were 4 or 5. Bought a stove pipe thermometer and one of those Eco-fans was a little sceptical at first but not now it seems to gently shift the warm air to the far reaches of the room. Had a carbon monoxide alarm for the open fire and still have it in the room for the stove. Don't ever touch the door handle when the stove is burning, gets very hot quickly use the glove provided by the manufacturer. As with all stoves a guard is needed if you have young children as the whole thing generates lots of heat. As a first stove fitted in this 1920's semi I am very pleased with the outcome and would not fail to recommend it.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Generally Satisfied

    Hugh Whitaker 8 years ago

    This was my first outing into a woodburning stove and we were restricted by the amount of heat energy that we could safely input into our thermal store. The stove we purchased was the multifuel
    with the back boiler. This heats up the 305ltr thermal store and we can see the temperature rising in the cylinder so I am satisfied with this aspect. I was concerned about some reviews I had seen about creosote eating the steel back boiler but I hav'nt seen this yet and hope not to or my room will flood! it burns well, I wish I had purchased one with a bigger burning area as I have to replace the well seasoned logs that I typically burn every hour to an hour and a half to maintain temperature. I agree re the ash at the front lip. The airwash mainly cleans only the central zone (but it means I can see it and enjoy it so it doesn't bother me too much). I would recommend it but would if I had to purchase again buy a bigger box in the future if possible as this resides in our dining room and if you are wanting to top up the heat into my green heating system then I have to keep topping it up as mentioned. Well done keep up the good work :)
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Worst Stove Ever

    Alan Woollard 8 years ago

    Having spent many years using a variety of stoves whilst living and working on canal boats I consider myself well versed in a range of fires and stoves. Unfortunately this stove comes nowhere near my ideal. I have had the stove for over 5 years now only because I can't afford to buy another. I admit that I live 800 ft up and a mile and a half back from the North Cornish coast which does provide quite a draw from the chimney. My issues are. 1. The handle is certainly not "Cool" as advertised so much so I am surprised trading Standards have not queried the description. 2. Neither of the air controls will actually close to regulate the stove and can be heard clicking open as the wind draws the chimney. Consequently the stove always burns too hot and it is all but impossible to use wood. 3. I have gone through two sets of Liners as these break down very quickly. 4. I have gone through two of the retaining bars - They just burn up. Both of the above are probably due to the high temperates because I can't control the air. 5. Just having to order another glass for the door as it has broken again. 6. The airwash system occasionally keeps a small central area less covered in tar and deposits but that's all. (I do use smokeless nuts as recommended by my coal man for this type of stove. 7. The riddle arrangement only works for about ten minutes after dismantling and cleaning out the ash that clogs it up. 8. The airflow plate has burnt through. 9. I have had to replace the rope seal to the door twice. I am dreading another winter fighting to deal with the stove. Alan Woollard

    Stove expert replied: If the flue draw is so excessive either install a damper or stabilizer so that you gain more control of the stove, allowing the stove to work at high temperatures for prolonged periods is exposing components to higher than expected temperatures and is probably leading to their failure and necessity of replacements.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Aarrow Ecoburn 7 Stove

    Nigel Hobday 8 years ago

    I really love this little stove. It is very easy to light & kicks out lots of heat.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Perfect

    CHARLIE TRUELOVE 8 years ago

    Had this stove for 2 years now and it has been faultless. It will burn most fuels very well. Had to replace a throat plate and door glass this summer and a set of lining blocks last summer
    .
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • easy to use

    Neal Holden 8 years ago

    We've have had this stove now for about 4 years and are very Satisfied with it
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Good price but average stove

    Gordon Shepherd 8 years ago

    I had the previous model in another house a Benton 7 which I found had a better build quality after 4 months of use the glass was starting to deteriorate , I replaced the glass with one from
    an online company and it has lasted far longer also the handle is untouchable and has burnt people 2 or 3 times . Overall an average stove but not a patch on the previous model..

    Stove expert replied: Glass will deteriorate if the stove is kept on a slow burn rate for prolonged periods and also if the stove is operated on the maximum burn rate for more that 30mins on a regular basis. Ideally the stove should have short periods of fast burn (max 20mins) 2 - 3 times daily.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Just the Stove we needed

    Alan Massey 8 years ago

    Purchased an Aarrow Ecoburn 7KW mutifuel stove 6 months ago for our rebuilt bungalow following extensive research of the market. This stove has exceeded our expectations, it is easy to light, burns hot, looks great, is very efficient with minimal emptying of ash. It certainly is helping to keep down our fuel bills. We only burn dry seasoned logs in it. Having used it most days this past winter & spring, we have already burnt around two tonnes of logs in it to-date without any problem. I am a retired engineer, having worked in the biomass industry, I can only say how very pleased I am with the stove. The key is to insure the logs are dry. (below 20% moisture content) My only negative comment is that you need a fire glove to touch the steel handle as this gets very hot!! (A composite material with low conduction would be better than steel) However, this is a minor point. Well done Arada. British made too!!!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2