WhatStove?

Aarrow Ecoburn 11 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Aarrow Ecoburn 11 stove

The Aarrow Ecoburn 11 is the biggest stove in this series - it has an 11kw heat output.

There is a single door on the front of the stove with 1 glass panel -

this glass has a curve to the top edge.

You can have an optional log stand or you can have a low or high canopy kit for the stove.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Good in ways, bad in others.

    Michael Mcmullen 3 years ago

    I've had this stove in now for 2 years. Gives out an OK heat but nothing spectacular. There is a good draw from it and burns through stuff pretty quickly. A big negative for me is the space
    at front of the throat plate for fumes to get to the flue is either too small or too close to the front. Anytime I need to reload and open door. even if I open slightly then fully, smoke/fumes bellow into the room. Can't be a draw issue as we have a massive draw on the stove but it's pretty annoying this happening. Great size glass for viewing the fire. Have seen 7kw stoves give out way more heat! If I was buying again I definitely wouldn't buy this one as much as it looks good

    Stove expert replied: You state there is a good draw, can you shut the stove down to a slumber mode only or is it busy all the time the stove is lit? An over-drawing flue can mean using a lot of fuel for little heat being produced. Have you an airbrick in the room as this size stove will definitely require one? Further investigation on both free air and flue draw suggested so improvements in the performance can be achieved.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great stove and made in Britain too!

    Adam 9 years ago

    A very good stove indeed. Yes, it IS expensive but you do get what you pay for. So what do you get? In short, an extremely heavy and very well made stove. The airwash is very good at keeping
    the glass clear, the multifunction riddling grate works well (although nails do jam it - but then again they would ANY grate of this design).Once you get the hang of setting the grate position, primary air and air wash control to the right point, it will happily burn overnight. It DOES take a bit of experience to get this right - so don't expect to get it right first time.The throat plate and ash pan are both stainless steel and good quality, so will last for years.All in all, a very controllable, well made stove - which uses less fuel than you might expect. Heats our entire detached house quite happily without burning excessively 'hard' - its better to have slightly more potential output than you need than to 'over fire' a smaller model.

    Stove expert replied: It is not good to have a large stove shut down all the time, woodburners should have to work which helps to maintain clear flues etc. If you are keeping on a low setting then twice a day you should allow a fast burn for 15 - 20 mins (Max) to burn off any tar residues that have been produced during the slow burning period.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Aarrow Ecoburn 11 stove

  • Nothing special

    Alasdair Paterson 3 years ago

    Heats the room very well Glass impossible to keep clean Supposed to heat 4radiators but barely does 2 When opening to refuel deposits of soot and ash very high

    Stove expert replied: Depending on the radiator sizes this stove may not be able to run 4 radiators, , 4.2kW is the rated output to water. What fuel are you burning - is it dry seasoned wood with a moisture content of less than 20%? if not then the glass will be hard to keep clean. Do make sure that the air wash is kept filly open. It might also pay to try an alternative fuel as they do vary greatly in the heat that they generate.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Looks great not getting enough heat

    Paul Neaum 5 years ago

    I love the look of our Aarrow with its big window, it is like having an open fire but with the advantages of a burner. My only problem is that, weirdly given other reviews, I can't get it hot
    enough. It seems to sit at the bottom of the best operating temperature" at around 100 - 130ºC, highest I ever had it was 150ºC. We have a new flue, etc, so not sure why we are having this problem. Other than that it is a great looking and easy to use burner.

    Stove expert replied: Please go back to your installer and ask him to take a flue draw test to ensure that there is adequate air to enable the stove to operate effectively, is there an airbrick in the room as this is a high output stove and will require more air than is normally present? What flue height is there and is it connected to the top or rear of the stove? Check that the fuel is dry and well seasoned. There is likely to be some reason why the stove is sluggish and this is normally easily rectified when you have found the cause. Most likely an installation issue rather than a fault with the stove.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Too Hot

    Ken Fraser 5 years ago

    stove does not turn down airflow enough to keep fire going on tick over just burns up quickly

    Stove expert replied: The controls should be able to close the stove to a slumber mode, if this is not the case then you may have an over-drawing flue that should be investigated further to prevent damage to the stove.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Ecoburn 11

    Luke Ruttle 8 years ago

    We have had our "Ecoburn 11" for over 4 years now. It is only used periodically in winter in our large day room. The day room is half part of the house and the other half is an added conservatory
    . This means in winter the room can get to -5 of -10C in the depth of winter. I'm not into the technicalities of the stove, I can only say over that period it has been superb. Even in the coldest temperature the day room can be as warm as we would want it to be. When we were looking for this stove we could have paid twice the asking price for other models, I'm very glad we chose the right one. Only one problem to mention is the handle seized after 3 years but other wise it's a great product which I would recommend to anyone.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Aarow Ecoburn 11 - Five years on.

    Maureen McClelland 8 years ago

    All in all I can heartily recommend this stove - with a little effort on my part in sourcing fuel and maintaining the stove my running costs are half what I paid in gas. This will obviously
    increase as gas prices increase year on year.

    Stove expert replied: Glass crazing (small marks that gradually creep over the glass) are normally caused by the stove being operated on a low setting for prolonged periods, short burst of fast burn at least twice a day for 15-20mins should prevent this. Also note that you have used unseasoned hardwood, only seasoned wood with a moisture content of less than 20% is recommended to maintain good air passage in the flue system.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Aarrow Ecoburn 11

    David Hales 8 years ago

    Very well made stove. We found it used a lot of wood when we first installed it. The temperature gauge we put on it kept reading well above the optimum level even with all the vents closed. However after we fitted a damper in the flue it became controllable and economic. A quality stove, well recommended.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Nice looking stove

    Sue Blackman 8 years ago

    Reasonable happy with stove, had a villager before with a separate door for the ashpan which I found a lot better. Other wise love the stove, lovely big glass front Door and large fire box so can get a decent size log on it
    Overall rating:

    4 flames