WhatStove?

Aarrow Acorn 4 Stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 13 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Aarrow Acorn 4 Stove

The Aarrow Acorn 4 & 5 stove are both compact models - therefore able to fit into a smaller fire place opening.

Like the rest of the Aarrow range of stove these stoves these come with a life time guaranty of body.

Technical Data
  • Height: 458mm
  • Width: 355mm
  • Depth: 350mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Don''t underestimate this little one

    Lucy Webber 4 years ago

    I've had mine 11 years now. I've needed two sets of fire bricks in that time. I burn anthracite pebbles and it keeps the fire in overnight. We can go a week or more without needing to re make the fire. Yes it's small. But it's mighty. We have a fire set all winter. And it's significantly reduced our LPG gas bill. Everyone comments on how warm our lounge is and our front door opens into the lounge letting out lots of heat, but this little star keeps it all good. Maintains a fab ambient temperature in our three bed semi as a supplement to our central heating. It receives very little tlc from us, but still looks great.

    Stove expert replied: Great long service record for this small stove

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Acorn 4

    R Vonk 12 years ago

    Top little stove that does exactly what we want it to do - we have a small front room, with the central heating thermostat in it also, and our previous Villager 8KW seriously over-heated the
    place. If I was going to buy it all over again I might go for a 5KW version as the logs do need to be small, but then I look after 200ha of woodland so it's not a problem.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Aarrow Acorn 4 Stove (page 1 of 2)

  • The Little Belter!!

    4 years ago

    This fire is great not only does it heat our kitchen/dining room but when the doors to the conservatory are open it helps the central heating out too. Fire bricks need changing now after several years but such a small expense. When we move it will be on our lorry to the new house. The handle works too always cool to the touch. Don't be tempted with getting a big stove if it is not needed, you will end up with it only just ticking over which is no good to keep the chimney clear.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Small but perfectly formed

    Sue Cook 6 years ago

    We were very limited in the physical size of our stove as I wanted to keep our Victorian fire front. I also wanted something to heat an average sized room. This fire has not let us down and
    gives out plenty of heat. It is also a mix of traditional & contemporary in it's appearance so will look good anywhere.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Turns out a lot of heat, but there are difficulties

    Tim Griffith 6 years ago

    We bought this stove two years ago to supplement the central heating in our medium sized front room. The heat output is adequate, but the small size of the stove means you are always trying
    to juggle logs in. I cut my own logs, and the small size needed does cause quite a bit more work at the cutting stage. In the two years I have needed two back fire bricks, and now the baffle board has a hole burnt through it. This baffle board is also made of quite thin metal, and you have to be very careful not to dislodge it when loading the stove with wood. I have reached the stage where I think I am going to have to replace it with something that is physically bigger.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Solid little burner

    Nick Kingston 7 years ago

    A great little woody, very easy to install, 4inch pipes . This is a very well made stove, came with all instructions and spares book. Not for a large living room more the small to medium. Kicks
    out some serious heat when fully stocked up with coal and wood. Would recommend this to the smaller family home will last a lifetime.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • awesome bit of kit

    Alan Cook 8 years ago

    Brilliant item. when we moved we took ours with us. Easy to light and clean. Well worth the money Previous stove was a Little Wenlock..... it only lasted ten years and was very disappointing
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • perfect narrowboat woodburner

    Mr Conrad Sumner . 8 years ago

    Just great, looked at lots of different types but this little monster just kicks out so much heat my boat has never been warmer, dryer, snugglier and saves a fortune on electric panel heating
    . I was going to buy the back boiler for it but quite frankly it doesn't need it on my 50ft narrow boat, big thumbs up and a paw up from my cat too
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • 100% happy

    John Thompson 8 years ago

    We have used this stove for three winters. It is in a small room, but with the door open it warms the rest of the house as well - we've switched our central heating off in the evenings throughout
    the winter. As we have only used salvaged timbers the saving is enormous. It is SO easy to light, and to rekindle into life when we have forgotten about it. If we moved house, this would be our first investment!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Acorn 4

    Christine Bing-Steele 8 years ago

    Smart looking small stove, which once it gets going keeps the house warm without the need of the central heating being on.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Small but HOT

    Antony McDonnell 10 years ago

    Very happy with this stove , its fitted with a boiler so heats my water but is not big enough for central heating ....I have a one bed house and that's all the heating I have. With sea coal
    and wood on the beach here in Northumberland I don't have to pay for any fuel but you do have to collect it? Build quality very good and will stay in all night with coal if heaped up in the stove and controls set to just above minimum. Beat the fuel costs and fit a stove but do read the reviews and get a good one. I did a lot of the work myself fitting the stove and only had a plumber in for 3 hours so not as expensive as you may imagine, did not need to line the chimney as the original 1875 chimney was in good repair

    Stove expert replied: Do watch the salt in the fuel and insure that it is dry. Probably not the best fuel to use!!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2