WhatStove?

Westfire 15 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Westfire 15 stove

The Westfire 15 is a contemporary Danish stove.

It has a plain design - tall and round body with plain door containing a glass viewing panel.

The flue can come out of the top or the back of the stove and the stove can be placed on a 12mm thick hearth.

The Westfire 15 is available in black or grey and burns wood but you can mix in 20% smokeless fuel as it has a grate & ashpan.

Technical Data
  • Height: 1070mm
  • Width: 440mm
  • Depth: 430mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Efficient and attractive stove

    Simon Evans 8 years ago

    I am writing this review in part to balance another I have recently submitted on another stove by the same manufacturer. The W15 was the first Westfire stove we bought. We have been very happy with it. It has quite a small firebox. The down side to that is that it limits log size which can make fuel more expensive. The up side is that the curved glass door is exposed to the full intensity of the heat and that seems to burn off residue effectively (most of the time). Like other stoves by this manufacturer, the firebox is lined with a fireproof material that insulates the casing and intensifies the heat radiated out through the door. This material does wear over time and replacing it is expensive. Our stove has had four seasons of use and it will probably survive one more before the lining has to be replaced. This stove has a single lever to adjust airflow which is simple and effective to use. The door does not open very wide. It would be helpful if it opened nearer to 180 degrees rather than 90.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great stove

    Mark 12 years ago

    The contemporary look and larger window were the real selling points for us. The stove easily heats our large lounge to roasting point with relatively little fuel.There is a knack to lighting
    the stove so that it doesn't smoke the glass, but once it going (which doesn't take long)then its not a problem.The vents make the stove quite adjustable, but it would be nice if we could reduce the air flow even further as it not keep going through the night.Otherwise I would highly recommend this stove.

    Stove expert replied: Reducing the air to the firebox this much reduces efficiency and results in deposits. Not only would the window tar up but there would also be tar in the rest of the stove and chimney. Slow burning also releases a lot more particulates which are bad for people's health - not recommended.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Westfire 15 stove

  • welcome to sweatsville

    Chris Milne 11 years ago

    Had mine for 2 years now. Love it. Miss using it in the summer to the extent that I will put it on and lie there sweating. Easy enough to light as long as wood is dry. I had a few problems to
    begin with but this was my fault as wood was not properly seasoned. Takes about five minutes to clean in the morning. Goes through quite a lot of wood, I use larch mainly which I think is quick burning. Overall would highly recommend this stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Westfire 15

    Andrew Gibbs 11 years ago

    100% happy with this stove, which we've had for the last couple of years. Easy to light (pull the ash pan out slightly at start), burns well, and heats effectively (the convection effect of
    the side panels helps spread the heat around the room, and keeps the sides cooler). Access through stove to sweep chimney is easy. Never had a problem with the airwash other than sometimes a fine dusting of ash - nothing that cannot be wiped off with a damp tissue in the morning.Would buy again.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Westfire Uniq 15 Stove

    Nigel Smith 11 years ago

    I have had my Westfire Uniq 15 stove for 2 months now. It is an excellent stove but there are several techniques required to get the best from it. When lighting the ash pan should be opened
    slightly to get a good air flow. I have also found that leaving the glass door slightly open for the first few minutes helps the fire establish. It is only once the fire is well established that you can then turn down the air supply.In order to keep the glass clean I have found that positioning the logs to the rear of the fire pit works best. That way the air wash works effectively and any tar is kept away from the glass. If your glass does require cleaning then a damp cloth dabbed into some of the cold ash works extremely well.Initially my stove suffered from a metallic clanging noise when windy outside. This was caused by a thin metal sheet between the inner and outer walls of the stove coming into contact with the inner wall. This was resolved by fitting a metal spacer bracket onto the end of the metal sheet to hold it away from the inner wall. My only problem now is I am too hot.....wonderful.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Westfire 15

    Victoria Hartnell 12 years ago

    This is a very attractive stove. The large window makes it a feature, and most of our visitors comment on the fabulous flame patterns when its going well, and the air draw is shut down a bit
    . It's half the price of some others we saw with a similar large curved glass window. It works a treat, easy to light and keep lit. It's too efficient to keep in overnight, but relights easily in the morning. I may be writing a too enthusiastic review, but we've had it for 2 season's now, and I love it.My only other comment is think carefully about delivery. This was our one snag, as the carrier company had sent it with a single driver,who refused to come down the lanes near our house, so we ended up (just about) getting into the back of the Ford Focus for the last bit of the journey. It's heavy!

    Stove expert replied: make sure you tell your supplier if access to your site is limited - a smaller vehicle with an extra person on it can usually be sent out if needed (at extra expense of course).

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Westfire 15 stove

    Mike Witherspoon 12 years ago

    Just love it!I've marked down for burning overnight as we've never tried it so I can't comment.I have to say that it was all my wifes's idea to install a woodburner in our second lounge (we
    already have a traditional open fireplace in our main lounge). Our second lounge has now become the room of choice.We found Stoves Online to be extremely helpful with the technical stuff and especially the chimney design service, which gave us the confidence to do our own installation - very easy.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Westfire

    Fleur Hitchcock/Mckay 12 years ago

    We've had ours for two and a bit years - it still looks like new but heats a very big room to a comfortable temperature and on through the house. It is so easy to light (although not from the
    instructions provided) that we use fresh ash twigs from the woods outside and a bit of newspaper. It uses a fair bit of wood and sometimes burns really hot (so that it sets off all the smoke alarms) with fresh Ash or very dry wood, but mostly burns very cleanly anything we put in it. it doesn't stay in overnight, but lights easily so it doesn't matter. There is very little ash, easy to empty. Top stove, glad we bought it.

    Stove expert replied: A very efficient stove like the Westfire 15 will not burn overnight as it cannot be completely turned down. Burning very slowly is inefficient and causes tar deposits you see.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • My Westfire

    Bob Reynolds 12 years ago

    Im really happy with this stove - it heats a little room in my house which was cold before I installed the westfire. Once it is hot and going I turn down the primary air and use the secondary
    air control - the flames make really cool patterns! and I can have it ticking over or roaring away depending on what I need. I only need to burn about 4 or 5 logs a day in it as my room is quite well insulated, it is really easy to light too.I have scored it lower for firebox size and overnight burning - it doesn't burn overnight but then I dont want it to. I am told that overnight burning is inefficient anyway. You can probably get 2 logs into the firebox so it is not huge but then the stove is so efficient that once it is warm it doesn't seem to need much fuel at all.and funnily it doesnt seem to make as much ash as my last stove...There is space under the stove for some logs but you can only really fit in 2 or 3 so i just stack them beside it.The window did get dirty when I burnt some wood that was a little wet and turned the stove right down for a bit but a quick blast and it burnt clean again - this doesnt really seem to happen with my really dry wood.In my last house I had a clearview and although this was a good stove I much prefer the westfire - the tall window gives a better view of the flames I love watching the flames dance away in there. I would definitely buy another..
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames