WhatStove?

Stratford TF70 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 11 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stratford TF70 stove

The Stratford TF70 stove is a plain boiler model with one door.

There is a flat top to the stove & the glass has a curve on the top edge.

The boiler will give up to 60.000btu to the radiator system.

All Stratford boiler models are built to EU standard testing EN13240 and the pressure is tested at 1.8bar.

It is recommended to leave the doors open in the summer time when not in use -

you can also lower the baffle plate for extra circulation of air and

put newspaper inside the firebox next to the boiler to absorb any condensation.

Technical Data
  • Height: 709mm
  • Width: 780mm
  • Depth: 486mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 3.5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Best stove ever

    Carol Massey one year ago

    I''m on my second arrow tf Stratford range fire , I bought a new charm wood at £1900 not cheap , had to replace with a second hand arrow tf 70 , and it runs perfect plenty of hot water radiators
    hot and fire gives loads of heat to room , I was devastated when arrow stopped making the stratford tf range bought my first one new at £1600 in 2002 not cheap but still going strong and never had a replacement part except seals replaced, my daughter now has that one , I''m telling you that you wont beat an aarrow stove , I've also had a hunter multifuel stove which is a good stove, but the tf 70b out runs it any day, if ran these fires for 30 years and aarrow are the best in my humble opinion
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

More reviews for Stratford TF70 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • A good fire that keeps the whole house warm.

    Darren Blake 7 years ago

    We live in an old 1840' farm house in South Wales. The house has been very damp for many years, that was until we installed the new fire. I am running 11 rads of different sizes around the house and now every room is warm and dry. The only downside is that it is hard to keep the water heated overnight. We are using wood, large nuts and Union blocks.

    Stove expert replied: If you refuel and give the stove a draw up with thermostat on max just before shutting down for the night you should find the water temperature improves. Suggest taking baths before this so that you can reheat the cooled water.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • very good stove

    Robert Walker 8 years ago

    I keep this stove burning 24/7 mostly on ovoids or anthracite one pail full at 6 in the morning then at 6 at night. I empty the ash pan and add another pail of coal. This stove heats 7 rads
    and this is a big house and is always warm easy to control and maintain, you get what you pay for in this life and I think this was a good buy.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Happy Customer

    Terry Colclough 8 years ago

    Bought the Stove about 6 years ago its in constant use all year round. only problems I have encountered is, I had to replace the seal around the door, also the clips and trim on the front door
    became loose and required sorting. All is well now with the stove

    Stove expert replied: The trim can become loose if the stove has overdrawn, the glass gasket will fail and allow more air into the stove and you loose control of the stove. If the performance alters in windy conditions getting a damper or stabilizer is recommended.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • TF70 used exclusively for wood

    Neil Sinclair 8 years ago

    Runs our central heating (9 radiators, detached 1920s house) from wood only using a mixture of softwood (mainly) and hardwood. Can struggle in very cold weather if using only softwood - the
    quality of the fuel makes a big difference! We are careful about seasoning, so have absolutely no problems with lighting or controlling the stove. Overall, very happy with the stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Read this review

    Andrew Jenkins 8 years ago

    Bought this stove because I needed a large 21kw burner for my house and it was to replace a Parkray Chevin room heater. I needed the stove to run my central heating ( 9 radiators) and hot water. I liked the look of the stove because it was minimal. Before purchase I relined my chimney with Vermiculite ( Sausage Liner) at a cost of £1400 , a large thermal tank went into the bathroom this was another £1400 and the stove itself £1500. My plumber came and did a fantastic job in connecting it all up. He connected a pump to draw the water from the boiler once it reached 45 degrees and another pump to run central heating system. all good so far ! Hmmm. I have burned seasoned wood and anthracite but the TF70 fails to reach temp 80% of the time even when the primary airflow is on Max which means we have to turn the gas back on in the winter as the radiators as low. I have cleaned my new lined chimney ( every 6 weeks ), taken the chimney cowl off for better draught, contacted the Aarrow forum site ( waste of time ). It has been in my home for just over a year now and I am about to pull it out and sell it for scrap. Its that bad !!! Aarrow Stratford.. Don't bother . I am now looking to purchase a 21kw ++ stove . Any ideas anyone ?

    Stove expert replied: What fuel are you using?

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Not recommended

    Brian 9 years ago

    The TF70 replaced a Charnwood multifuel stove which was 17 years old and running ten radiators. Compared with the Charnwood the construction of the TF70 is too light weight for a mulltifuel
    stove. The Firebox door /ash pit door interlock is fiddly. The ash pan is flimsy and too small so that the ash pit floor is constantly covered in ash; this is worse when burning anthracite. Every time the ash pan is removed ash is pulled out on to the hearth and where fine ash falls over the front of the pan it accumulates inside the ash pit door. The cast fire bed supports are easily displaced when poking the solid fuel to remove ash. The riddling action is poor. I bought this stove via the internet and would not have bought it if I could have inspected it at a local dealer

    Stove expert replied: It might help to empty the ashpan a little more frequently. I use our hoover occassionally to hoover out ash inside the ashpan compartment which you cannot otherwise get to.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Aarrow TF70

    Elaine Read 10 years ago

    A truly fantastic stove, very practical, has a large firebox and does all that was promised. Saves us a fortune in oil.. \n\n

    Stove expert replied: Great to hear you are pleased with the performance of this boiler model. Good review.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Aarow 70

    Dave 12 years ago

    Very expensive spares
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2