WhatStove?

Stovax Stockton Milner stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Stockton Milner stove

The Stovax Stockton Milner is a 5 Kw multi-fuel stove, which is Defra exempt when one burns wood.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 2.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Stovax Stockton Milner

    David Tasker 2 years ago

    We've got ours pre-used from a neighbour, perfect for our existing fireplace as there was no need for any building work. Easily installed and heat performance is excellent. Glass needs a daily
    clean, but will stay clear if well seasoned logs are burned with the airwash fully open (this will also minimise soot build up in your chimney - so it is a good way to run it). We light it every night (Oct - May) and it costs us about £60 in logs (bought unseasoned) for the year. Has small capacity, so standard sized logs need splitting, but I personally love getting the axe out (as Roger Deakin put it, that way the logs warm you twice). Great little fire if used correctly - would recommend to anyone without the space for a free-standing stove.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Stockton Milner - Early views

    D. Kearley 9 years ago

    Had a Milner installed a few weeks a ago. Its a very well made and finished little fire. As the weather is still warm, we have only had test-burns in it lasting a few hours each but we have found it to be very easy to light and maintain a good fire in it. The airwash does work but needs to be almost fully on to keep the glass clear, at 25% closed it gives a slight sooting of the glass but is still usable, set it much lower and glass blackening occurs but can be cleared off by opening it up again for 10-15 minutes. The stated log size of 250mm is a bit generous and we have found a size of 175-200mm better, the box is quite small due to its inset nature with the Milner brick in place. We have not and will likely not be overnighting it as it is so easy to get going. It is slightly expensive but as said, it is built extremely well so should give long service. With a good hot fire on seasoned Oak, no chimney emissions were noted so cleanburn seems easily possible. Overall, a great little fire and very quick and easy to install.

    Stove expert replied: Very informative feedback on this new installation, seems to be working well and customer finding out where control should be set to get the best results.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Stovax Stockton Milner stove

  • What a little Gem

    4 years ago

    We live in a very cold little cottage and the Stockton Milner multi fuel stove is wonderful. It stays both day and night and the whole of the downstairs is warm. It is economic to run and this
    year we are burning Briquettes in it which have proved to be very successful. I love the glow of a real fire. The door does need a wipe each day but hey what is the difficulty about this?
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Excellent Insert.

    Ian Castledine 6 years ago

    I had one of these installed at the beginning of this winter and the chimney lined during installation. The stove shop I used advised I used this particular stove for solid fuel as the firebox
    was the right shape for it. I've had the thing burning virtually none stop since Christmas, 24hrs a day, running it with the air fully open until the flame has gone off the fuel and then shut it down to half open and find it it be a great little stove. I burn Homefire fuel on it and running it this way seem to use less than lighting it every day. This seem to have settled down to around 5kg a day. A huge saving on the open fire I used to have and the thing picks up quickly when you put the fuel on it and is a very controllable source of heat.The only bad points are, the door seems to have small pits in the glass, but you can't feel them from the inside, you can;t see them when the thing's running and the fuel retaining bar has bowed, but still works just fine. The airwash clears the slight sooting 3/4 of the way up the door when it's opened up, this just happens when the fuel burns down and leaves a layer of ash over the top of it. It does creak a little when it warms up as well. I empty the ash pan and clean the grate out once daily and riddle it twice. The stove also keeps the dust that gets into the room to a bare minumum. All in all I'm very pleased with the purchase.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Absolutely dreadful!

    Richard Jones 6 years ago

    Paying a visit to the fireplace shop where we purchased this stove from one more time in January and then taking legal action as its simply not fit for purpose. Black glass EVERYTIME within
    minutes of lighting it, have had two other log burning experts round who have cleaned the chimney and given up on it, just appalling. Had better heat and performance with previous open fire.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Disappointed

    Mark Davies 7 years ago

    The Milner looks great but as a previous reviewer said, is hard work. We were advised to get this so minimal installation work was needed but in the end, the whole cavity had to be removed anyway
    , so we could have had a freestanding cheaper stove. The capacity is tiny, the glass blackens almost as you watch it and unless you are constantly vigilant (ours is in a bedroom) will fizzle out to nothing unless stocked up regularly. Looks great but wish we had something else.

    Stove expert replied: What flue draw is there and has the chimney been lined, this will help to improve the draw which is possibly the cause of your problem. I would suggest further investigation, also do make sure the fuel you are using is well seasoned and of good quality.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • An inset stove that needs short logs

    Simon Measures 7 years ago

    This is an inset stove which our local fitter recommended as ideal for our fireplace. At first it took some getting used to as I have a regular woodburning stove in our holiday cottage. However
    , once I realised that firstly it needs shorter logs than the normal 240mm ones and secondly that it likes to start on a bed of ash then it worked a treat. It's easy to light and throws out a lot of heat once it's been going for awhile. I love it. (Be sure to order logs less than 200mm long!)
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Brilliant and easy way to re-use a fireback

    Johnathon James 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • hard work

    Iain Millett

    This stove is hard work. The air wash just about works when the emitted heat is closed down but we still need to clean the glass daily. The grate is very small making it endlessly adding fuel
    especially wood. Smokeless fuel burns well but given the tiny ash can this needs emptying 2 or 3 times daily.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames