WhatStove?

Stovax Riva 66 Avanti stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 9 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Riva 66 Avanti stove

The Riva 66 Avanti insert stove is a multi fuel casette stove.

This is a contemporary high output model.

The door itself is gently curved & there is a removable stainless steel handle.

Above and below the door are steel panels - the 66 is available in a Riva 66 & Riva 66 Avanti version.

Technical Data

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Worth every penny

    Ian Hamilton 3 years ago

    I''m Heading into my 3rd winter with my Riva 66 stove and it is an amazing fire and has saved me a lot of money from my gas bill ,I have to leave the doors open and it heats the whole house ,
    very efficient, sweep my flue every 6 months with hardly any soot . And it is good to look at .well worth the effort to put in
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • DIY repairs

    Dennis 10 years ago

    The Riva 66 multi fuel stove inset was fitted just over a year ago, It seems I have over fired the fire according to the book, but I don't consider I have,(so no warranty would exist) the self
    tapping screw heads retaining the fire bricks have all but gone, there was not enough metal to put a screw driver in so I have drilled the heads of to remove them so I could replace them, the two screws and spacers that hold the second baffle in place are so thin they have snapped of, my question is, how do I replace the screws when the heads have gone?

    Stove expert replied: If screw heads are no longer evident then the only option is to drill them out, not ideal after a years wear and tear. Might be worth going back to Stovax for their advice.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Stovax Riva 66 Avanti stove

  • Stovax avanti 66a

    Baz 7 years ago

    I have just passed the sixth anniversary with this stove and I can't fault it. Really elegant and really well built. Gives out a lot of heat with minimal fuel. It's a multi fuel an we're really glad we made the investment.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • riva 66 inset

    DENNIS 8 years ago

    Riva 66 parts, I have found having parts made from stainless steel is well worth the cost, in comparison to manufacturers parts there is no difference in price, so have the parts made up at
    a local fabricator. Stovax will say the gaurantee will be void if you do not use their parts but the gaurantee will be void in any case, no matter what you say, stovax will have an answer to say its your fault, not theirs! If this fire lasts another year I will think myself lucky. Yes its had 3 winters use, please read my previous posts, I will not be buying another fire from Stovax, its cheaper to run the heating on gas lol
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Mastering the air controls and forced draught heating

    Paul Howell 9 years ago

    Had this installed in August 2010. The fire is a little on the expensive side, but then most of these are. The finish was easily marked by plaster but fixed with some stove black so no drama
    there. In practice though, this fire does output a lot of heat - maybe too much for it's own good if your flue draws well, you burn the wrong type of fuel, and/or your mastery of the air controls is less than precise. I can understand some users 'cooking' their stove if they are using the bottom air control for anything but lighting the fire, or having to use a lot of secondary air (airwash) to keep damp or unsuitably resiny (conifer) woods going. If your flue pulls really well, as mine does, then mastering the airwash takes some doing - the slide from right to left does little until it suddenly shuts off; it could do with the graduation of the opening looking at to make this more easily adjustable - unless you listen carefully and have a safe crackers touch it's either full blast (think smithy furnace) or chugging down and sooting up the glass. I have mastered it to the extent I can keep it just in overnight using only wood without the glass tarring up like a footballers hummvee windows. I also installed the venting system but not using the inbuilt fans - I have used insulated fireproof ducting and a high temp fan unit (not cheap or easy to come by) to draw the air in through the convection vents on the front of the fire, and pump it out to two downstairs rooms, and it works brilliantly. (NOT a DIY job - you must ensure correct ventilation & check that negative pressures do not defeat the flue draught under all possible conditions, and for that you need expert advice!) Heading for hard winter number two, no terrific wear and tear evident yet, and the baffle is intact, so maybe its time to start experimenting with solid fuel..

    Stove expert replied: Flue draw will make a terrific difference to how the stove performs and it may be worth getting a flue specialist to advise if controlability continues to be a problem.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stovax Riva 66 Avanti stove review

    Eileen 11 years ago

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Eileen 11 years ago

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Stovax Riva 66

    S Bridgeman 12 years ago

    We installed the Riva 66 approx 2 years ago. It has not come up to our expectations at all. The heat output is not as high as we were told, the fan is noisy and can be irritating if you are
    not used to it. it has been extremely temperemental when lighting - sometimes a good fire sometimes not. Recently we have experienced smoke coming from the fire when we first light it with dry kindling, to the point where we had to fling windows and doors open. The after sales service from our supplier is non-existent. We originally were going to opt for a Jetmaster open fire, and now realise we should have gone with our gut feeling. The Riva was a lot of money to spend on something that does not come up to expectations. I would not recommend it.What

    Stove expert replied: This sounds like a classic chimney problem rather than a problem with the stove. Any stove will smoke if the chimney does not draw correctly. As to the heat output I will not comment other than to say that stove heat outputs are tested in the laboratory but it is always best to ask your retailer their expert opinion when choosing a stove as of course a laboratory result is one thing and knowing how the stove performs day to day quite another. Choose a retailer with excellent customer service to start with rather than just thinking about price and you stand a better chance of getting the best advice in the first place and thereby saving time and money in the long run.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Riva 66 review

    Allan Hogg 12 years ago

    We installed our multifuel Riva 66 in October 2007in our new build house.We did find that for burning wood it was very difficult to close off the primary airflow which is achieved by rotating
    the two plates comprising the grate. At first we put this down to the fact we were burning old pallets and thought nails getting between the plates was the fault but the problem continued even when burning dry logs so it seems ash or grit getting between the plates is to blame. The wood fuelled fire got very hot and was uncontrollable with air getting in at the bottom it was more like a blacksmiths forge. We abandoned using the primary air control and fitted a solid steel plate over the grate which solved our problem and it now burns wood very well. We subsequently found when cleaning the chimney in July that the upper baffle plate had burnt out. We are still waiting for a replacement so we assume this is a common fault with those who only burn wood.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames