WhatStove?

Stovax Riva 40 multi fuel

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 24 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Stovax Riva 40 multi fuel

A contemporary stove suitable to fit into a traditional fire place.

It can be installed as an insert stove with or without frame.

This stove can also be installed as a free standing model.

It is available in 2 colours.

Technical Data
  • Height: 599mm
  • Width: 492mm
  • Depth: 350mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • A disastrous purchase

    Philip Ledger 3 years ago

    Attractive stove, burns beautifully, but all the heat goes up the flue. Incapable of heating a 4M x 4M room. Have tried a modified cowl to reduce draw, but still no good.Would be interested
    to hear from Riva users who have similar experience and how they either overcame the problem or got some sort of recourse from vendor.

    Stove expert replied: Is the stove installed with insulation around the cassette box?

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Riva 4

    G Young 11 years ago

    Bought this to warm a 4x4m room, I originally wanted a larger version but was advised that stoves with an output >5kw would require exterior ventilation. The build quality seems excellent and
    it is easy to light and clean. It is certainly more than adequate to warm our 16m2 sitting room. The airwash system to keep the glass clean is so far only moderately satisfactory, but this may be because the wood I have been burning is not quite well enough seasoned. All in all a sophisticated piece of kit and a good purchase (although it should be at £1100). I have not tried to burn it overnight so have submitted a neutral score.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Stovax Riva 40 multi fuel (page 1 of 3)

  • A great investment.

    Peter Horning 4 years ago

    We wanted a stove for our small bungalow, our local supplier/Installer suggested the Riva 40. It looks chic and gives out a perfect heat. It was installed and running within the day. There was
    very little mess and it adds that perfect cosy feel on a cool evening.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • 10 years old and limping on

    Jeff Moore 4 years ago

    Self installed 10 years ago, baffle plates replaced twice, now shot to ribbons again, grate has seized up and the bricks are cracked and broken.Its been used hard, burning every night of heating
    season for 10 years with good seasoned and dry wood.Air wash ok at higher levels than Opto burn, won''t burn overnight and won''t take huge logs.All in all its been a v.good purchase, but now nearing the end of its life - hence the reason i''m looking on the site.

    Stove expert replied: Good service for hard working stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Riva 40 big disappointment

    4 years ago

    Have this stove 4 - 5 years now & like some other people I have never been happy with it. I burn smokeless fuel which is recommended, it has gone through 2 baffle plates and like other reviewers
    have stated it is very difficult to get parts for it. There are much better stoves on the market for less money. Would most certainly not recommend it.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Stovax Riva 40

    4 years ago

    Installed this great little stove 3 years ago. Chosen to fit perfectly into existing fireplace as room isn't large and a freestanding stove would have encroached too much. The heat from the Riva is fantastic, it's very easy to light and maintain. Cassette stoves for me every time. I've read all the previous comments and have a few comments that might be relevant; IHMO only use hardwood logs that are seasoned or kiln dried and between 10% and 20% moisture. Rejecting logs above 20% is a no brainer but rejecting logs under 10% is just as equally important. Invest in a moisture meter! I had a patch that required plastering, about 1.5cm deep and 10cm x 10cm directly above the fire where the heat is greatest. Researched all the heat resistant and specialised plaster and was about to order. Had some bog standard polyfilla left over from another job and fired it in to see what happened. Several weeks later and fire on every night and no sign of cracks whatsoever. Give the cheap option a bash first, what's to lose! I read a review about ash removal. Remember that removing all ash between fires is a definite no no. With good quality logs I only remove 1 or maybe 2 scoops of ash per week. Always leave ash in the fire, move it to the side to allow the air up the middle. Lots of heat comes from the old ash once the fire is up and running. Don't be too clean! I hope this has been helpful. Regards Stuart
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Fantastic Stove

    Luke Jones 5 years ago

    I was a bit nervous about getting a stove with such a small firebox. The Riva 40, however, produces more than enough heat to bring our 28 square meter living room up to temperature quickly.
    Once the wood has started to burn the preset "optiburn" setting is perfect to allow a secondary burn of the smoke. The controls work almost instantly. It is very unlikely that you would get an overnight burn using wood but not everyone needs that feature anyway. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this insert to anyone.

    Stove expert replied: Great review.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Big disappointment

    Janet Martin 5 years ago

    Any advice would be gratefully received. We have just had this installed, are using good seasoned wood. All the heat must be going somewhere, but it isn't coming into our room.Is the installation
    the issue?

    Stove expert replied: It is certainly advisable to get the installation checked and if no insulation has been included round the cassette then heat can dissipate there rather than coming forward into the room. The flue draw is also something that should be checked as if in excess of what is recommended the heat will be sucked out of the stove before it has time to radiate correctly. The stove is a metal box and will heat up when fire is inside so the heat must be going somewhere, there is normally a reason that once established can usually be corrected.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Stovax Riva 40

    Michael Gibson 6 years ago

    I bought this stove a year ago.BIG DISAPPOINTMENT.It replaced a Jetmaster which gave out tremendous heat but ate logs.I use well seasoned oak but the heat output into the room 16'x16' is not good.Most of the heat goes up the chimmney and sometimes you cannot bear your hands on the chimmney breast in the bedroom. We cannot have a larger or freestanding one as we wish to keep the original fireplace.I would not buy another one
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Great little stove

    Simon Page 7 years ago

    I bought a Riva 40 about 7 years ago and it's been a sound investment. The glass does get dirty if the airwash isn't used correctly or fuel is damp or excessively smoky but experience overcomes this. Leave the door slightly open when first lighting though as the condensation is a bit of a pain to get rid of if you don't! You CAN burn overnight but bank up over smokeless fuel and turn the vents off. You'll never manage this with wood or more volatile coal.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Riva 40 - Cracks in chimney breast

    Alex Saward 7 years ago

    I had an exposed brick chimney breast with an open fire and last year had it plastered & a Riva 40 fitted, the chimney breast was lined with heat resistant plaster board and heat resistant plaster
    about 30cm around the actual Riva, however every time we have a fire cracks emanate from the Riva, can anyone tell me what to do, I can't face a lifetime of filling cracks & repainting the chimney breast after each use of the Riva? I can't go back to the bricks as they have now been spoiled.

    Stove expert replied: Was there back fill round the cassette when installed and how was the flue connected, two areas that are worth re-visiting to try to overcome this annoying problem.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3