WhatStove?

Morso Badger stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 24 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Morso Badger stove

The Morso Badger is a multi fuel stove with one door.

Technical Data
  • Height: 630mm
  • Width: 440mm
  • Depth: 512mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Excellent in parts

    David Pitt 3 years ago

    Bad points: If you flue the stove from the rear you must remove the top baffle to give good draw and avoid smoke every time you stoke it up. Morso tech help advised this. And you must remove
    the spinner from the stove front to get the fire started. Morso tech help advised this. Door handle design poor and needs constant adjusting, Riddle very poor and I have given up using it, Front row of secondary air vents cause local overheating and buckling of the baffle access door. This is easily replaced every 4 years or so costing £29 with postage. Given the price I would not recommend this stove highly.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • morso 3112, The Original Cast Iron Stove

    Rodney Strain 12 years ago

    I bought this morso 3112 badger stove in dec 07 and put it in my living room (5.5m-5m) and love it. I have since opened a shop to sell these stoves, because when i bought this stove everyone
    i talked to had something different to say, but none gave me the right advice on the fitting of the stove. I do recommend to put in a flexi flue liner in with a 20 year guarantee. morso stoves are easy to work and mantain, it lights real easily and when it really gets going i open the double doors into my kitchen/dining room which is (9m-5m) which leads onto the sun lounge (5m-5m) and keeps the rooms at 20/22 degrees. you need to use dry wood as slightly damp will not light and cause damage to your stove and flue over a long period of time. my dad is a building contractor and is now fitting these in his houses instead of a open fire as they are 80% efficient as open fires are only 20% efficient. I hihly recommend the full morso range.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Morso Badger stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Badger stove

    Keith Bobd 4 years ago

    When we moved we vowed to buy a decent stove..ie a Morso Badger...the difference is amazing,easy to light/clean,and very economical,the big bonus is that when let out during the night the heat
    retention the next morning is fantastic....love it, would recommend this to any one!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Moso Badger 3142

    Anthony Lloyd 5 years ago

    bought and fitted in 2002 used for 8 months of the year. Price paid £750 used to heat a room 60 m2 / not often used on a high setting mostly medium. Can stay in all night if desired. fuel: Pure Heat / occasionally wood Parts replaced / 1 x glass Fire bricks are now cracked but still in place Riddling grate distorted and jammed, not replaced yet as a poker easily cleans the dust left behind from Pure heat Ash-pan does not quite catch all the ash but this is not a problem The stove still seals really well and can be closed right down if needed I have managed to accidentally let the stove 'rip' a few times after getting distracted after lighting. This was the cause of the riddling grate getting distorted The air wash system is OK but not brilliant, better with clean fuel The handle is a good positive motion but does get hot Benefit of the convector model is furnishing can be closer Obviously a very well made bit of kit that looks set to last a long time

    Stove expert replied: Good solid stove providing great service over many years.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Primary control?

    A Mcqueen 6 years ago

    Just got a badger stove installed. Instructions not the best. Primary control on the front only turns fully once, doesn't seem to make any difference... Do I need to loosen it? Also when first
    lighting smoke billows from the bottom / back of stove until the draw kicks in. Apart from that very hot nice looking stove
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Morso badger

    Dick Palmer 6 years ago

    The badger will keep you very warm to the extent we keep the doors open in the living room but its not without faults. We also have a Morso owl which is easier to control and refuel. The problem with the badger is it is difficult to light on cold still nights due to down pressure in the twin wall stainless flue and it ends up emitting smoke into the room when refuelling. Morso say to leave the door ajar when refuelling but it doesn't always work. Ours is installed correctly and I think it is over damped which in effect inhibits gases getting out of the stove. We're going to bin it and install something simpler.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Superb *****

    Sion Lewis 8 years ago

    Brilliant stove. Those Scandinavians certainly know what they are doing. It's easy to use and contrary to what Rodney Strain says, the airwash works brilliantly. OK, so it's dear, but you certainly
    get what you pay for. We picked this over the Charnwood and Clearview, and I am so glad we did because they, quite frankly, were not as modern and cool looking as the sleek lines of the Morso?. Control is easy, removable handle is cool, and the glass never darkens with seasoned wood. (apart from obviously in the morning after it has burned out, but that's true with any stove.) In fact, with regards to the aforementioned reviewer, I am very sceptical about someone who one minute loves these stoves enough to open a shop selling them, and the next minute dismisses them over a different make stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • morso 3112

    Veronica Robinson 8 years ago

    Great stove, have had no problems. Not sure how to use as multi fuel as only using for wood at present. It is really lovely would buy again.

    Stove expert replied: Great review.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Not as good as a squirrel

    Sam Lowery 8 years ago

    Agree wholeheartedly with Michael Botham and others. This could be great little stove ... good-looking, very efficient, beautiful castings and overall build-quality, but is let down in a couple of important areas. My biggest gripe is the very poor ash handling; as pointed out by others, much of the ash simply misses the ash pan and is subsequently diffcult to remove - particulary from a hot stove. The worst aspect is the riddling mechanism: The heavy cast plate fits snuggly into the bottom grate and frequently jams. At this point the link arm usually pops off and can only be re-fitted once the stove has gone out. The whole mechanism is so badly designed that I usually resort to shovelling ash out by hand then brushing the remainder through the small slots in the riddling plate. We have a Morso Squirrel in another room that has none of these problems and is, in my opinion, a better stove all round.

    Stove expert replied: Disappointing problem with the grate and ash removal system.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Morso Badger 3112

    Chris Jones 8 years ago

    Excellent stove. Took a long time to decide which stove, but I am glad that we decided on this one, we also have Dunsley Highlander 8 in another room, but the Morso is easier to light, keep in and seems to give off more heat. We have not tried burning smokeless fuels yet, since we only burn well seasoned wood, mainly oak, we check all wood with a moisture meter before burning and try and stack it close to the fire for 24hr before it is needed. Just fill up the firebox before bed time and shut all controls down, then first thing in morning, open up everything, stir up bed of ashes place a few small pieces of wood on the ash bed, leave door ajar for 5mins then more often or not it relights without problems.

    Stove expert replied: Take care not to stack your wood too close to the stove, it is combustible!!!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Badger3112

    H Saemian 9 years ago

    Superb stove. Heats up 2 rooms, one of which has a vaulted ceiling about 4m in height. There has been many a Dec/ Jan / Feb that we have had to open the windows to let the heat out. So happy with this stove that I am in the process of buying one for my house in France. Once it gets going, the heat produced is felt at about 3m away. We use mainly logs (always hardwood) and on a very cold day / night, add a few smokeless coal lumps.

    Stove expert replied: Another great review for a Morso stove, amazing heat produced for such a small model.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3