WhatStove?

Morso 6140 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 14 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Morso 6140 stove

The Morso 6140 is a contemporary style woodburner with quite a big window.

Technical Data
  • Height: 753mm
  • Width: 451mm
  • Depth: 386mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Great fire - now!

    Jules Humpheson 6 months ago

    We''ve had this installed for 8 years now. Initially, like others, we had problems with smoke when we were lighting, adding fuel etc. Until one day, when a couple of sparrows fell into it.....
    Having dismantled the fire and freed the birds, I discovered the baffles hadn''t been put in correctly. Reassembled it was a different fire - easy to light, no smoke, no sooted glass, even though we have a short-ish flue pipe (bungalow). Once going, the fire burns beautifully and throws out a tremendous amount of heat.

    Stove expert replied: Glad to hear that having put the internal components into the correct position the initial issue has been resolved. It is always best to check this should any issue with how the stove operates arise, a simple remedy!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Morso 6140 - the Ferrari of wood burning stoves?

    Brian North 10 years ago

    We already have a Morso (1412) stove that heats our home & that really transformed our winter heating routine. When we extended this year adding a 21sqm conservatory / extension a woodburner
    was the natural choice and again we went for Morso - this time the 6140. Apparently conceived by a female designer it is a beautifully curvaceous design, aesthetically pleasing and taking up a small overall footprint. Being a convector model it is incredibly efficient - a mix of seasoned hard & soft woods will burn for 3 hours from load to coals. We have had issues though and I liken this model to a high performance Italian sports car. When it is running it cannot be faulted, high output, long run time - perfection. However it has some design flaws that let it down. Ash spill when opening the door can be a problem. The lip just isn't high enough to prevent ash accumulating outside of the ash tray, occasionally spilling out of the stove when you open the door. We have also had issues where when reloading there is sometimes excessive smoke ingress into the room if the door is opened by more than a few inches. We have a good draw on the flue so this shouldn't be a problem and never occurs with our old 1412. Overall then a really good stove, but with a few issues that stop it being perfect. I'd happily buy another, but I do own an Italian sportscar so make your own mind up...
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

More reviews for Morso 6140 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Welding

    Patricia Michie one year ago

    Whilst our stove is easy to light and gives out a great heat the attachment of door has given much grief. After about a year we struggled to get a seal and now 4 years later and many miles of
    rope it we realised that the welding was coming away. My husband has now re-welded the door and cured it but we are disappointed at the quality of the welding.

    Stove expert replied: This is disappointing but it is good to know that you have been able to rectify the problem.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Morso 6143

    Peter Kelly 3 years ago

    We installed the 6143 during a major renovation 2 years ago, so we have done 2 winters in Australia. The positives are looks, design & quality of finish. It heats the 75 square metres of open
    space reasonably well, but Melbourne has few frosts & average day temps of 10/15 degrees. My major gripe is that on the 3rd firing when I topped up the fire, a glowing log ''exploded'' & red hot coals showered onto the new timber floors doing considerable damage. After that experience, I was honestly scared to open the door!!! As a solution, I made a 60mm high extension to front of the fire box to contain the embers. I had no response from Morso or the Australian distributor with my concerns. As others have said, it can be a smokey starter & I also extended the flue by a metre which seems to help.

    Stove expert replied: Your comments about an exploding log are surprising, had the log been treated with anything? Stoves should have a hearth that extends 300mm in front which should then catch any ash or debris produced, have you a suitable hearth in place to protect the wooden flooring? I have known of previous cases where ignition of flue gases on opening the stove door have occurred, this was due to the incorrect fuel, poor air movement by keeping the stove controls shut down which prevent flue gases form combusting adequately. Do you keep the air control open and have you adequate free air in the room where the stove is installed?

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • A first class minimalist and elegant stove

    John Hutchinson 3 years ago

    We''ve had this stove for just over a year and are still delighted with it''s performance and unobtrusive appearance when unlit. Of course, when it is lit the large, high off the ground window
    of flames can''t be ignored.We follow the manufacturers recommendations to the letter and in particular use the top-down lighting method using kindling chopped from the same type of dried logs we burn. Burn only two logs at a time and, having ascertained the best position of the air control lever, leave it there all the time. The door needs to be left ajar for a few minutes after first lighting the kindling and after refuelling.To keep the inside of the window spotless we wipe it with a damp paper towel between each use.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Worst stove ever

    4 years ago

    Had the 6148 installed. My wife wanted this because of the contemporary design. I have had wood stoves before and this is the worst designed stove on the planet!!! If you want to fill your house
    with smoke - because you have to leave the door open to create enough draft to get it to burn - then this is the stove for you!!. I wish I had seen some of the negative reviews on this stove before I sunk over 4K into this stove and its installation. When you need to add wood you have to keep the door cracked to get enough draft to get fire rather than smoulder. Wish I had never heard of this brand. Exceptionally poor design in that for it to fire properly vents in the bottom grate have to be clear - how is that possible if that''s where the wood lies when it burns?? Buy some other brand! You have been warned.

    Stove expert replied: There may be factors that prevent this stove from functioning as expected. Have you a short flue (less than 4.5mtrs?) Is there an airbrick in the room to provide adequate free air to allow combustion to occur? Wood burns best on a bed of ash so an over draught is required.

    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Terrible, wouldn''t buy another

    4 years ago

    Now it's smoking extensively from the rear to the extent that we cannot use it. About to buy another brand. In my experience my Morso fire was aesthetically great but gave dire performance.
    Given the high purchase cost I feel very disappointed.

    Stove expert replied: Did you get the flue draw checked as the problems experienced sound indicative of a poor drawing flue system. The glass discolouration also indicates insufficient air for combustion to occur correctly which can't be blamed on the stove but down to the installation. You say it is smoking from the rear, have you had the chimney swept? What horizontal run is there as it should not exceed 150mm! Expert investigation suggested to ensure the stove has been installed as per the manufacturers guidelines.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

  • Morso 6140

    5 years ago

    Had my Morso 6140 installed for just over a year now. Great stove, no problems, very efficient and an absolute joy to sit by. Would recommend to everyone
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Morso 6140

    Kate Roberts 6 years ago

    I had this stove fitted a few days ago and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I have not had a wood-burning stove before (or any stove) so was nervous about being able to light it and control
    it etc but it really couldn't be more simple. Really easy to light and control. Lovely subtle warmth makes it super toasty in the house - an open plan bungalow with no other heating on. In winter I will need some other heating for the rest of the house as it is only 5.5 kw. Lovely clear window to see the fire.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Morso 6140

    S MacPhee 8 years ago

    One other tip is that I used single skin flue pipe as high as I could in downstairs room, connecting to twinwall flue 6" below ceiling, (as per regs). This was to maximise heat output from flue
    also. There is about 0.5m2 extra surface area with that and at 200 degs c or so, a worthwhile bonus.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Morso 6140 - A Superb Stove

    Howard Rice 9 years ago

    We have used a number of stoves over the years. We chose this one for our kitchen/living area partly because it has a beautifully simple, unfussy, contemporary appearance. The air wash system
    works really well and even if the glass soots up because you have damped down too early or too much it burns away the next time you run the stove hot and clean. We have had our 6140 for about 2 years and there are only a couple of minor niggles that we have had to learn to live with. As we have an external stainless steel flue it gets very cold and we have to close the kitchen door and open a french door to the outside just for a few moments when first lighting the stove to make sure no smoke comes in to the room. It is also important to have a good supply of really dry kindling so that the fire catches easily. Unlike old fashioned stoves there is no bottom air inlet you can use to force air on to or up through the fire when first lighting. I read the points others have made about ash spill. I agree but it doesn't bother us. Yes, a little smoke comes into the room if you open the door too quickly and if the fire is still at the stage of producing yellow flames and smoke but this doesn't happen at all if you have waited until the logs have burned to the point of glowing red. It's not the sort of stove where you can keep opening the door and tinkering. Basically if you follow the instructions that come with the stove it works brilliantly, looks fantastic - especially when alight, and makes a basket of small dry logs go a very long way.

    Stove expert replied: The instructions are always there for a reason and it really pays to take time to read them so that you get the best from the stove. Good feedback.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2