WhatStove?

Morso 04 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 22 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Morso 04 stove

The Morso 04 stove is the smallest of the 3 steel contemporary Morso stoves.

It has 1 door with glass in it and is a multi fuel stove meaning you can burn wood and coal in it.

The 04 can be placed on a 12mm thick hearth.

Technical Data
  • Height: 573mm
  • Width: 401mm
  • Depth: 431mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Love this stove!

    4 years ago

    This is now the second winter using the Morso 04, and it is a great stove. It looks neat, it works very well, is easy to light, to clean and the single air intake ''push-pull'' slide handle
    is extremely efficient, so you can control the way it burns quickly - though this does take a few goes to understand the settings. It's also very good value for money.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Help required....

    Andrew Gregory 8 years ago

    We have had one now for 3 winters...this being the 3rd winter. It has been intersting reading the other reveiwes however I still have some questions regards this little stove. The biggest fault we have with the stove is it just never seams to be able to get the room warm....any ideas would be much appreciated. The reason we bought this small little stove was to be able to get it into the alcove we have from our old open fire. I sometimes am so tempted to take it out and somehow get another stove into the same area. I think the stove looks great and it is easy to operate and light. Any help or thoughts would be much appreciated... on another note the back fire brick cracked over the first winter.. Overall we like it but just wish we could get more heat out of it...

    Stove expert replied: Have you got 150mm clearance either side and back with 300mm above? If smaller then the heat will not radiate freely as the space is restricting its flow. A fan on the top may help to circulate if you have room.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Morso 04 stove (page 1 of 3)

  • Great little stove

    John Adcock 6 years ago

    But.....the glass has cracked 3 times and we definitely have Not bumped it what might be happening here?
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • A proven stove

    Ad Wish 6 years ago

    We have used this stove for almost 8 years now, but mainly from October to April (not in summer months). It has always amply heated out small stone built house and is warming the room within
    30mins on wood. I have to admit we have done virtually no maintenance on the stove in this time, that's not to say it probably should have had some! All fire bricks are intact and original!! We burn reclaimed wood (fence posts and builders off cuts) 90% of the time and then revert to compacted wood briquettes when wood runs out. Occasionally use coal but takes too long to heat up when we need quick heat form 7pm till 11pm most nights. We have a flue liner within the old stone chimney and whenever swept it has very little soot. Main complaint is having to cut the wood into such small bits takes too much of ones evenings!! As an architect, I also love the clean and simple design of the stove and is mainly why I chose it. Highly recommended for anyone thinking to use it as we do above.

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Great stove

    Neil Park 6 years ago

    I installed the Morso 04 about a month ago. I have to say it's worth the money. Once you get the hang of the air intake( worth reading the manual twice) it gives a great heat. After roughly an hour it warms up nicely and is very sturdy. Thoroughly recommended !!!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Morso 4

    Simon Mills 7 years ago

    What a brilliant little stove. So efficient, would thoroughly recommend. Yes the fire bricks crack but they are easily replaced.We live in a modern house, had to have flue put in because we
    had no chimney. Gas bill has tumbled. Should add that have access to wood but even if you haven't then no brainer. Changed our lives. Any doubts contact me
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Morso N04

    John Parkes 7 years ago

    Great heat to size capacity, I can't complain too much about this stove overall its great. One minor criticism, because its small, you can sometimes tend to easily over load it and have burning
    stuff roll back out at you. Not a problem if you have a large enough hearth, but the main thing to be aware of with this stove, is that it burns through a baffle plate about once every 18 months, not a big issue, but an added running cost

    Stove expert replied: If you are over-loading the stove this can lead to a shortening life time of the internal components, perhaps load less to see if this makes a difference to the baffle life time!

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • morso 04 - great little stove

    Havers 8 years ago

    First time users - this is a fine unit, easy to control and just right to heat our dining room and lounge. Early days as it has only been working since November but the build quality and operation
    gives the impression of a well designed and well built log burner.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Morso 04 Design Flaw

    Tom Leahy 8 years ago

    I like this stove but would not buy a Morso again. To my way of thinking it has a fatal design flaw, in fact this applies to many Morso stoves. A few times the stove has gone out in the first couple of minutes after lighting, this seems to happen especially at the beginning of the heating season when the chimney is cold and damp. I am much more careful now and have learned to cope with this. The problem is that you cannot completely shut-off the air intake, so when the stove fails to light as described, no draught has been established and the smoke in the chimney and firebox falls down and emerges from the stove's underside and spreads across the floor of the room. You are helpless, there is no way to stop it. The oily smell of a firelighter is not a pleasant one. That is a minor inconvenience but demonstrates the real problem. What if you have a chimney fire? The first thing you want to do is shut off completely the air supply to limit the problem. But that is impossible on this and many Morso stoves. How could a company with such a tradition in designing stoves make such a mistake? Ensuring some air supply at all times may improve stove efficiency, but I'm afraid they have compromised on safety.

    Stove expert replied: Try leaving the door a jar when first lighting so that the flue gases are lifted out of the stove. If gases are coming back down the flue then this should be looked into as there should always be a draw to insure the stove can work effectively. It may not be the stove that is at fault but a poor flue draw!! Advise getting this checked.

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • A little belter

    John Watson 8 years ago

    We have our Morso 04 for three years,always burning well seasoned logs.The side firebricks cracked soon after purchase but our chimney sweep(an ex stove installer)manages to remove and refit them when carrying out his annual sweep.I guess they will eventually need replacing.The stove easily heats our 28ftx11ft lounge diner area.The stove always lights easily and the airwash seems to work fairly well.The glass very occasionally blackens at the bottom slightly(usually when you overload and smother the fire creating excessive smoke). Although the firebox is not massive, once the fire is established the stove really belts out the heat! We havn't tried keeping the stove burning overnight.Overall we are really pleased with our 04 and would consider buying another Morso.

    Stove expert replied: Producing good output and providing the firebricks are protecting the metal can be used. These are consumable so will require periodic replacement.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3