WhatStove?

Loxton 5 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 10 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Loxton 5 stove

The Loxton stove is available in 3 sizes -

the 5kw, 6kw and 8kw model.

The Mendip stoves come with a 5 year guarantee.

Technical Data
  • Height: 606mm
  • Width: 510mm
  • Depth: 320mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • loxton 5 disappointment

    Sheila Russell 3 years ago

    We had the stove fitted December 2016 - it has only been lit evenings and not every day even in winter, so far it has not had two winter''s use but already the insulation boards are breaking
    up along the back and the grate at the bottom has a large hole in it. The stove door rope cord is breaking up too. We have never have trouble lighting it but found the air control lever works if pulled out or pushed in but makes no difference if moved to the left or the right. We have used kindling wood and firelighter to light it and solid smokeless fuels along with logs. We are so disappointed at the quality of this stove we were not aware they were so delicate!! We purposely did not go for a cheap Chinese import and thought we were getting a quality British made product. It''s a pity there are no zeros on the ratings below!

    Stove expert replied: For a grate to burn through so quickly I would suggest that you may be over riddling the stove, or possibly using an incorrect fuel. Do try to leave a small bed of ash on the grate to protect it from intense direct heat and always remove the ash after riddling the stove. Changing to an alternative fuel may help e.g.anthracite burns really hot whereas another smokeless product has a less intense burn, so trying an alternative fuel may help to prolong the internal parts. Have you contacted your supplier over the lack of control as this can be followed up with the manufacturer.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Great Stove but Occasional Problems with Lighting

    Steven Morrison 8 years ago

    Stove looks great and produces a lot of heat; enough to warm most of the downstairs in our house (and a lot cheaper than Gas C/H).But ... on six occasions we have had big problems with lighting
    the stove; which has resulted in smoke coming out of every orifice of the fire and filling the room with smoke - which is not very pleasant. Which is a great shame with such a good product.

    Stove expert replied: As this has only happened occasionally it may be due to a cold flue, poor draw, wind direction or possibly not enough air in the room. It may be worth you speaking to your installer to get further advice.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

More reviews for Loxton 5 stove

  • Looks great, easy to use and great heat

    Karen Jones 3 years ago

    I've had no issues with the burner at all since I had it put in a year ago. It belts out the heat and I find it easy to use. I don't use gas central heating in my 2 bed terrace - I just put
    this on and open the door to my kitchen and the heat also goes upstairs and warms the bathroom and landing.

    Stove expert replied: The ash drawer needs to be free of soot / ash deposits to insure a good seal, a stove ash vaccum can help to clean this area if problems are being experienced.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Poor quality firebricks, paint peeling disappointed

    Simon Walker 6 years ago

    This stove is now starting it's 3rd winter and its now on it's 3rd baffle brick. I've had to replace all the bricks once already. Whilst I don't mind replacing bricks from time to time, every
    year is not acceptable and bear in mind the prices of spares do vary depending on the supplier. Not only this but the paint is peeling off and there is rust underneath. I spoke to their technical department but didn't get any answers, despite me telling them I've been using various woodburners for years. This is rather a shame, as I really like the looks and function of the stove, I just wish the quality of build and materials were higher...
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • paint peeling and rust issues

    Julie Symms 6 years ago

    Would not recommend this stove. Shortly after installation paint flaked, peeled then rusted. After contacting the manufacturer I was informed that this was due to moisture damage and the paint
    on stove deals with high temperatures not moisture ! The company agreed to replace the top of stove but not pay for labour costs. This would have been very costly. My partner resprayed affected areas with appropriate paint. The treated surfaces have since been exposed to moisture, water spillages etc and are still in tact !!! Re-inforcing our thoughts that the original paint finish was substandard.The stove heats well, but the problems with paint for cost of product is disappointing.
    Overall rating:

    2 flames

  • Hot!

    Tim Allcott 6 years ago

    We had a sweep to assess the Flue. He said he would certify it (the house is over 100 years old) but we could consider a flue liner; I opted to go for this. It was expensive but I now have a
    "sealed system" and I think it helps the fire to burn efficiently. Flame picture is hypnotic, and airwash is good. If the glass does soot up a little when lighting the airwash clears it when control lever is moved to full secondary air. Haven't tried it on solid fuel yet, but will come back and give a report when I have. It does everything we want, and really looks stylish. Warning! Handle gets VERY HOT. Supplied mitt is necessary
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Loxton multi fuel

    David James 7 years ago

    The stove is excellent and gives a great deal of heat. I am Having trouble turning it down even with both vents closed the rate of burning is very high. Do I need a flue damper or is there another
    problem?

    Stove expert replied: Have you had a flue draught reading taken to ascertain the draw? A flue damper or stabilizer will help to control an overdrawing flue. I would suggest speaking to your installer for further advice.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Fantastic stove!

    AlexMolyneux 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Mendip Loxton 5 DEFRA

    AlexMolyneux 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • A fantastic looking stove that works really well!

    Ed 9 years ago

    We decided that it was time to give our house a makeover and as such we had always wanted a woodburner. After having walls ripped out and flooring up it was time for the stove to be fitted. It went in a treat and the guys who fitted it were great. Upon lighting it all 3 chaps ( we needed them all as they had to fit a twin walled flue up the side of the house) commented on how easy it was to light and how fantastic the ' draw' was. Within a matter of 20 minutes the room had gone from 10deg to 18deg c and this is a bare room with no furniture or carpet due to building work and a room that is on the brink of needing a 6kw stove. It took along time to arrive at the Loxton 5 but I am glad we did. If you want an efficient, contemporary and easy to use stove I couldn't recommend it more. We are thrilled with it and for the money I couldn't find a better stove that suited OUR needs.

    Stove expert replied: Great feedback of one happy customer!!

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames