WhatStove?

Hunter Herald 4 stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Hunter Herald 4 stove

The Hunter Herald 4 stove is available as a multi fuel stove or a woodburner.

It can have 1 or 2 doors and the 2 doors can be plain or with crosses on them.

It is available as a flat top model or a low or high canopy model.

It comes in matt black or coloured tones.

You can have longer legs for this stove.

The flue pipe can have top or rear exit.

Technical Data
  • Height: 550mm
  • Width: 460mm
  • Depth: 400mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 4 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Brilliant little stove

    Jon Hayes 4 years ago

    It is extremely well made, looks good, lights very easily and throws out huge amounts of heat. We burn mainly wood on it as my job means I have good access to plenty of it but we have tried
    smokeless fuel and it worked just as well. I would definitely recommend this stove.

    Stove expert replied: Great comments.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • I'm looking for a replacement for this stove

    Elizabeth 10 years ago

    I've not been pleased by this stove, it gets through a lot of wood for low heat output. It's set into a fireplace under a lintel so heat escape and air circulation are good but none-the-less
    I expect more output than I get.

    Stove expert replied: Having a stove set into a fireplace can restrict air flow, might be worth investing in a stove fan that is driven but heat generated as this would move the heat into the room.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

More reviews for Hunter Herald 4 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Very pleased with this stove

    Gwyn KILBURN 6 years ago

    I've had my Hunter stove for 8 years now and have had no problems whatsoever with it. It's fantastically easy to light and keep clean. It burns both logs and solid fuel efficiently and the air flow system has kept the glass on both doors as clean today as they were the day the stove was installed. I only have to wipe the glass over with a bit of screwed up newspaper to give the glass a brilliantly clear finish. I ensure that the chimney is swept every autumn (I tend not to light it in the summer months) and I have the stove serviced at the same time. I've just had to have the fire bricks replaced but, after 8 years, I don't think that's bad! The only criticism I have is that the door knobs do get rather hot when the stove has been lit for a while but that's easily addressed by using the "riddle handle" to help.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Great stove !

    Stephen Mahon 6 years ago

    We have had a Hunter 4 Fitted in a room of about 20SqM this is plenty big enough. We had considered the slim line five however after reading reviews and the difficulties with the long and narrow grate we opted for the 4. It is Easy to light and keeps going easily and is managed by using the riddle grate options and air inlet systems. the airwash is adequate although I'm a bit of a cleaning freak so have cleaned the glass between fires. This stove puts out a lot of heat quickly using quality fuel; I think this is the key to happy fire building. Overall very happy with the Hunter 4.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Beware the double door verion

    Tom Crichton 6 years ago

    I have the double door version of this stove and I am disappointed. There is a gap at the top and bottom of the doors which draws air in when burning resulting in a fire which barely slows
    down. I had a flue damper fitted to slow the airflow but with little success. Ropes have been replaced a number of times but with no improvement. The small gap between the doors is part of the design and I can't see a way around it unless a single door can be fitted to the double door version.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Good Little Stove

    Rob 8 years ago

    Upon first installation we were extremely unhappy. Huge amounts of wood were burnt which roared away with no heat output. Lowering the stove and bringing it forward did not help. A third visit
    from the kindly installer sorted the job. We have a Jotul in the lounge and expected the same preformence. The simple solution was to burn solid fuel. Light a match and stand back for a minute. It roars away, throw on a log then a shovel of coal. After closing everything down it smoulders all day keeping the kitchen pleasantly warm without a refill. To overcome the intial problems we had a rear baffle fitted to the flu which along with the other 2 vent controls allows ultimate control. The airwash works just fine. It's not the prettiest of stoves and the small fire box makes loading difficult with pieces of coal falling back out. The door handle is not the easiest to operate and gets hot. Glowing embers are still there in the morning if you want to put kindling straight on. So, overall if you are looking for a small efficient multifuel stove which is not particularly good looking you will not be dissappointed
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Stay away from it!

    Barry 8 years ago

    WASTE OF MONEY! DO NOT BUY! Cons 1. Air flow sometimes works 2. Fire bricks don't work well and are extremely fragile 3. Back plate is all mangled, so as I work with steel, took it out straightened it, strengthened it and put it back in. Very thin metal for a stove 4.need bigger box size 5.flue damper is loose and handle has come off 6. No proper heat due to many reasons 7. Air wash lever is fiddly and loose and no proper feel that u are adjusting when sliding 8. Bottom vents are loose fiddly 9. Very uncontrollable 10. Adjustment levers get very hot 11. Everything on chimney is loose and chimney slides up 12.not really good value Pros 1. Good finish 2. Easy to light 3. Lightweight and easy to take down 4. Good ash bed design 5. Good glass Overall I am a hunter who lives in a log cabin in Scotland that needs reliable stove. Not up to scratch. Disappointed. That will mean that I will never buy a hunter stove as long as I live! DO NOT BUY!

    Stove expert replied: The flue should be fixed, this needs to be attended to immediately. The stove will not be controllable if it is not installed correctly, urgent action required. Conflicting information when you say good finish but then air wash fiddly, fire bricks extremely fragile, bottom vents are loose fiddly etc

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Herald 4CE

    A.Taylor 10 years ago

    Found great difficulty in trying to contact Hunter by phone

    Stove expert replied: Always go back to where you purchased from as a starting point they should be able to help with any problems you are experiencing.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Hunter 4, one door

    Paul McClelland 12 years ago

    This is our 4th wood stove, counting different manufacturers, this is the best airwash, keep the glass clean we have had. Very pleased.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • hunter hereld 4 stove

    Mr Reynolds 12 years ago

    good looking stove kicks out heat very well. fire bricks very fragile though. needs good flue and draw.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2