WhatStove?

Firebelly FB stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 8 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Firebelly FB stove

The Firebelly FB stove is available in a lot of different colours. This stove is the smalest of the Firebelly range with a 4kw output.

You do not need an airvent into the room if using the FB stove.

The Firebelly FB stove is wood burning only & top flue only.

Technical Data
  • Height: 530mm
  • Width: 411mm
  • Depth: 326mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 3.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 3.5 flames
Handle operation 4.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Firebelly FB 4Kw 1 year on review

    Keith Richmond 7 years ago

    Bought this half price from someone who had not fitted it ! Sprayed it back to matt black as was cream colour. Nice size just fits a standard chimney builders opening without lifting the lintel
    . Burns well, however noticed recently seal rope has lost its flexibility and the door has warped sligthly leaving a couple of mm more of a gap at the top right hand side. Anybody having issues with controlling the rate of combustion check this gap ! It should have a tight seal against the fire rope all the way round. Had to strip door of glass etc and straighten on a bench ! All ok now

    Stove expert replied: Rope seals need to be checked regularly as do glass gaskets, they should be replaced when the rope looses its pliability. To check a door is sealing well, shut a piece of paper between the body of the stove and the door (when cold) and if the paper can be pulled out easily the rope needs replacing or the door needs adjusting. The damage to the door may have been caused through the ill fitting rope seal, worth checking annually if not more often.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Firebelly 4KW logburning stove

    Mike 12 years ago

    This small stove is mostly very good, but the standard and durability of the finish is poor in that it marks very easily indeed. Operationally very good but our installation was very very poor
    , in fact, still unfinished. Value for money is difficult to score, but whilst the finish is poor and hardly worthy of the name, the fire is robust and a very useable product which is easy on the eye. Not too many "smaller" stoves available so its a shame that Firebelly compromise their product with this external finish.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Firebelly FB stove

  • giving up!

    Sally Eastwood 7 years ago

    Bought this 5 years ago because it is uk built and contemporary look. We are disappointed with the quality and controllability. So much so that we are going to replace it this year.

    Stove expert replied: What a shame as these stoves have given good performance for other customers. The controllability may be an installation issue not a problem with the stove and should be investigated further before a replacement is purchased.

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Great little stove

    Joe Lawton 7 years ago

    We bought this stove in 2010 and it has been a great addition to our living room. We bought direct and received fantastic service. The first couple of lightings were a little smoky as the rope bedded in but since then there have been no problems with smoke in the room. It burns nearly anything (soft/hard wood, pallets etc) and is easy to light once you get the knack. Heat output is great, when it gets going we generally run it at half vent and it heats the entire downstairs of our open plan terrace house (that has no wall insulation) to the point where we open the doors to upstairs and warm that a bit too. The build quality is fantastic, the magic cool touch handle is great. We are still on our original rope (it is regularly serviced but if not broke don't fix) but as mentioned in other reviews you have to be a bit careful with the finish as it does mark easily (Hoover nozzle etc), this can be easily touched up though, in fact it is included in our annual service. I've tried to think of bad points but honestly can't (maybe a cool touch vent control handle built in would be good?). My wife and I love this stove and will be going back to buy a new one for our new house this year.

    Stove expert replied: The rope should be changed when it is not sealing the door adequately, try shutting a piece of A4 paper between the door and the stove body, if you can pull the paper out check adjustment on the door and replace the rope. An alternative test is press the rope and there should be some spring in it, if hard it should be changed.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Firebelly

    White White 7 years ago

    This company not only makes an amazing stove, I read loads of reviews of all the stoves on the market choose the FB3. I rang the company what a joy to ring a company, get all your questions
    answered. Very polite customer service first class I cannot say enough..very happy

    Stove expert replied: Great review.

    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Great little stove

    Carol Smalley 9 years ago

    We bought our red FB about a year ago having searched long and hard for a contemporary looking small stove. Our FB certainly fits that bill. I have only marked two areas as satisfactory. The control ability and handle operation for the following reasons. Control ability: the top air intake is rather stiff and sometimes sticks half closed but with a bit of encouragement it moves. Once both the top and bottom are closed then it ticks away very nicely (always close the bottom intake first!). Handle operation: this can be a little stiff but on the upside here you know that the door is sealed well when the door does close. Finally airwash: when closed down the glass does smoke up a little but when opened up again it soon clears, and we have known ours to remain warm overnight with just the minimum of logs lit initially. Overall very pleased with it.

    Stove expert replied: A few niggles but nothing major to cause disappointment as the heat makes up for them!

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Un-controlable looker

    Eric Shepherd 9 years ago

    Although it's a great looker the Firebelly is an uncontrollable heat blaster. Installed 4 yrs ago and very happy with the contemporary looks of the stove, the large firebox-sized door gives
    a great view of the fire. However, the top and bottom vents have a very limited effect upon airflow, consequently we tend to limit the heat output by controlling the amount of logs we put on it - not entirely satisfactory. All that said, because we only use it as a visual adjunct to heating, I can't say that I would never buy one again because I do really like the look of them.

    Stove expert replied: Check the fuel to insure that it is good quality to help with overall performance.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Firebelly FB Stove

    Adam Morris 12 years ago

    We moved to our new house and Firebelly installed the FB stove in Matt Black which looks amazing with the chrome air vents. We had the FB1 in our old property which would have been too big for
    the room we wanted to put the stove in here. We have no chimney so the install was a worrying thought initially but we are more than happy with the outcome. We would recommend a Firebelly to any of our friends as they have advised us on everything we needed and their installers were very professional.The airwash works brilliantly and the flames look fab for a small stove.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames