WhatStove?

Dovre 425 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 8 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Dovre 425 stove

The Dovre 425 is available as a woodburning stove (the Dovre 425CB) or as a multifuel stove (the Dovre 425MF).

This stove has a single door with a curved top to the window and the stove side panels have a patterned design.

Technical Data
  • Height: 700mm
  • Width: 550mm
  • Depth: 445mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 5 flames
Ease of lighting 5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 3.5 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Multifuel Version

    Chris Butler 6 years ago

    We are onto our 4th heating season. Some good points, the stove is efficient, it looks well and dimensionally it suited our existing fireplace well. We bought the enamel version: this has turned
    out to be a big mistake. The quality of the enamel is poor. It chips really easily and worse still it flaked off the top and looks dreadful. The centre ( circular ) section of the grate collapsed despite never having not been subjected to burning coal. We have only ever used kiln dried logs and peat. Overall, 7 out of 10 for the stove and nil points for finish. If you are buying one, buy the matt finish.
    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • dovre 425 wb

    Matthew Hammond 9 years ago

    With all the stoves on the market it was a dificult choose. But I made the right one.I got the 425 woodburning model and it is fantastic, its easy to light,and control I only have the bottom
    vent open to light it ,then the top contol for the air wash,which I leave open all the time, then the glass stays fairly clear.It is easy to keep in over night I just stick a big log on last thing at night and in the morning just put more wood on and watch it go.Build quality is good, the door is heavy and shuts tight.I could have spent a lot more , but I don't think i could have done much better.I would recommend this woodburner for the price and the heat it generates.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Dovre 425 stove

  • Dovre 425 warped

    Rich Dobbin 8 years ago

    Purchased Dovre 425 7 years ago, quite attractive looking stove traditional looking but not 'fussy'. For first 4 years stove ran OK it was controllable and could be throttled down for over night burn. The so called airwash is ineffective as the glass requires cleaning every few days. After 5 years we found it difficult to shut the door and have noticed that the sides have noticably shifted and partially disengaged from the top panel and the door is very difficult to shut and I am considering whether to scrap the stove or repair it. On the whole we are disapointed as the stove was not cheap and we expected it to last also the claims of having an air wash system are misleading.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Dovre 425GM

    Peter Lambart 11 years ago

    This is a multi-fuel 425GM stove, black, non-enamel, 8kw.I installed this stove last February to heat my large lounge (7m x 5m x 3.5m) that is North facing and expensive to heat. I was attracted
    by its cast iron construction and good ratings to go with a reasonable price.It weighs 120kg, and that takes an hour or so to fully heat up. Once to temperature it really pumps out the heat, and my large room is soon toasty warm. I can usually open a door to heat other rooms except on the coldest of days.I can easily regulate it, though the slider for the airwash is quite sensitive and takes a little experience to get right. I have a stove-pipe thermometer which helps greatly in judging adjustment.The glass can get a dirty, but like the other reviewers say it is easy to clean once a week or so. The view of the fire, and the radiant heat coming from the large glass door is very pleasing.I haven't tried to keep it in all night, though once I did shut it right down when fueled with logs and it sooted up the glass (the logs were slightly damp). A little more practice would improve things there, and I'm sure that smokeless coal would do the trick.Overall I highly recommend this stove for build quality and performance. My lounge has never been so cosy.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Dovre 425

    Steven Lucas 12 years ago

    I like the stove. Its plenty hot for the size. I have been using smokeless coal and wood together mostly and I find I have to clean the glass daily if I want a good view of the fire inside.
    I use Hob Brite which does work pretty well. I haven't tried to keep it in overnight many times as it is not necessary for me. I found it wanted quite a lot of fuel to keep it in. I think I could get better at it with practice. Overall I think the quality of the stove is very good.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • My Beautiful Enamel Brown Dovre 425 Stove

    Mrs Josephine Thomas 12 years ago

    We Love this stove it works Brilliant with wood and smokeless fuel,also has a lovely big firebox and it's lovely to see the flames through the big glass door, and the enamel finish gives it
    a classy look, The only thing i wish was different is the door handle, i think it spoils the look of the enamel finish, due to it being silver in colour, but other than that it's fab and would recommend it to anyone.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • 425 multifuel

    Susie Hitchings 12 years ago

    Been using ours all winter and very happy with it. Only used wood so far and haven't tried to keep it in overnight..however it does stay in sometimes even without trying! Glass does blacken
    unless it's burning really hot constantly. I have to clean the glass every week to be able to see the fire burning ( I use Astonish with a soft cloth ). Very easy to use and only empty the ashcan once per week. Good value for mid-range priced stove.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • 425

    Srephen 13 years ago

    brilliant very efficient
    Overall rating:

    5 flames