WhatStove?

Dovre 2000 stove

Overall Rating:

4 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Dovre 2000 stove

The Dovre 2000 is a multi fuel stove.

You can install this stove built in or you can have it free standing with or without optional plinth

&

using one of 3 canopy heights - small medium or large.

The body of the stove is cast iron - but the canopy on the Dovre 2000 is made of steel.

The doors are 4 folded & can be pushed back against the sides of the stove leaving a biog fireplace opening.

Technical Data
  • Height: 1000mm
  • Width: 690mm
  • Depth: 550mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 3.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 2.5 flames
Controllability 3 flames
Handle operation 4 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Dovre 2000 review and question

    Matthew Thomas one year ago

    Nice large classy looking stove, does not seem very efficient with a poor comment from our local woodturning supplier. Sometimes works quite well and hot other times very poor, maybe due to
    poor lack of wind for updraft. I wonder whether lining stove back and side walls with bricks or similar will make it better. ? Is the space inside simply to large for effective heating or am I being too mean with the volume of wood I put on at any one time. Quite a pain having to open the doors to adjust the chimney baffle, poor design fault. Usually run it with the doors closed when going well to prevent smoke, sparks and fumes. Sometime open door when using coal and glowing well but have to open up the top venting baffle to reduce fumes. Any thoughts folks.

    Stove expert replied: If the flue draw is poor then smoke coming back into the room is often likely when opening the doors for refuelling. You will need to put a decent amount of fuel on this appliance and it should give more heat when operated with the doors closed. The wood needs to be dry and seasoned with a moisture content of less than 20%. Have you an air vent in the room? If you line the stove, when it was not designed for there to be any, this would not help with the output.

    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Warm as toast!

    Rachel 13 years ago

    Our stove has become a much admired feature in our room. The heat is amazing especially with it being freestanding and heat coming from every surface. The glass in the doors needs to be
    cleaned every day, we started by using wood ash which worked well, now however we just use soapy water with a plastic (non scratch) pan scrub and the soot comes off very easily. It was easy to install - with the help of a strong man!!
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

More reviews for Dovre 2000 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Dovre 2000

    John Vernon 2 years ago

    We've had our stove for 10 years and it still looks like new. We love it and so do all that visitors to our home and its a must for winter both for warmth and visual comfort. I have to say we
    would not be without it. If I were to have one very small criticism, it''s the ceramic knobs that seem to disintegrate and we've had to replace them twice so far and they are not cheap.

    Stove expert replied: A good stove review and only having to replace two sets of knobs in 10 years proves the quality of the build. .

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Veteren stove still going strong

    Philip Greenway 4 years ago

    I''ve had this stove for 20 years and it is still performing well. This season''s fires have been as good as ever. It can be a bit sensitive in terms of setting the air-vents - a roaring fire
    or dying embers - but with practice you can get it how you want it, just don''t leave it too long without checking on it! It can also be tricky sometimes to get the fire started. Providing there is *plenty* of kindling to warm the chimney up when you light it you can usually get a good strong fire first time. Also, as with a lot of stoves, make sure your wood is really dry before trying to burn it. I''ve just given it a spring clean, and the door glass has cleaned up like new. To be honest, you wouldn''t know how old it is! It''s installed in an inglenook so I would recommend the addition of the side panels as these give it a very "finished" appearance. It is a substantial stove that delivers huge amounts of heat.

    Stove expert replied: Great length of service from this stove.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Changing doors

    Stig Sund 5 years ago

    I have a Dovre 2000 with solid doors. It gives good heating and is easy to use. But it is boring with the solid doors. Can they be exchenged with glass doors?
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Good as an open fire - poor closed

    Mike Smyth 8 years ago

    This stove was bought to use open. It's just great that way - gives an estimated 12kW output burning 4kg soft dry wood per hour with the doors open. Closed - waste of time! Still burns up to
    4kg per hour and heat output minimal - estimated 2 - 3kW. Instruction manual not very helpful - doesn't even mention some of the controls. Bottom line - great open fire alternative.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Curates Egg

    DaveN 8 years ago

    Installed 8 years ago and reasonably satisfied. Main problem is that it only burns well over the riddling frame and leaves unburnt wood/fuel on either side. Never tried to keep in overnight as doubt if it would stay in. Airwash might just as well not be there as soots up too easily. Would be nice to have a sparkguard to use when doors are open.

    Stove expert replied: Using a stove with the doors open does affect the efficiency of the stove, I use a poker to move the unburnt fuel to the middle, worth a try perhaps!!

    Overall rating:

    3 flames

  • Good alternative to an open fire.

    Les Briggs 8 years ago

    Stove fitted, built in 1987 and is showing it's age. That said it has kept us warm for 25 years. We burn a mix of wood and coal,depending on the cash flow it can be logs or old pallets or wood from skips. The back boiler warms the water and saves electricty. The room is 10m x 4m with an open stairway but it keep us warm. Would I buy another? Well I'll have a go at rebuilding this one first, it needs door seals and a crack fixing in the top casting. That done I'll see how long it lasts. It cost almost £900 25 years ago so that's 10p a day,I have done the door seals twice the damper has corroded but the stove still works just not as efficiently. As with all open fires there is always a bit of mess involved but with the doors shut it is easy to do a quick clean up. We opted for the solid doors but it results in the fire being used open (Psychologically warmer). There are more efficient stoves but it does its job and has stood the test of time. It is easy to guard and there is not a flat top for people to put things down on.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Dovre 2000

    Kevin Twelvetrees 9 years ago

    The trouble with reviews,compared to what!.Most wood stoves are much better than an open fire or a missed calculatted inglenook.That means all owners will review with a high score.The Dovre
    is not a high efficient stove.Its a compramise with an open fire.Looks great,but air leaks in round the air wash and you cant slow it down.Their is not a throat baffle so most of the heat goes up the flue(that has to be large because of the open door option).Its a great looking stove, but if you want a good stove that wont burn loads of fuel get a proper wood stove(not a Multifuel either).

    Stove expert replied: this stove is for those who want an open fire but a bit more efficiency. As the reviewer says it is not as efficient as some freestanding stoves but that is not its function. The reviewer asks quite right what one compares a stove to? In this case I would suggest one would compare the stove to other inglenook stoves. There is in fact a baffle that comes with the stove but to operate you have to open the door so most people do not fit it! Here again I think perhaps it is the salesperson who let the consumer down - decent advice at the start might have stopped false expectations from this stove?

    Overall rating:

    2.5 flames

  • Dovre 2000 - great goats of gruff!

    Neil Forster 11 years ago

    We have had the 2000 since 2001 and apart from changing the door seals once and replacing the iron base once it has been a friend of the family. We have a 10 inch flue and find that it burns
    most efficient with the doors closed. The airwash doesn't work that well but the fire is controlable as long as your seals are all working well.I'd recommend it if you have a big room, otherwise it will force you to open your windows - it can get that hot!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Lovely to see those flickering flames!

    Siobhán Rogers 12 years ago

    We absolutely love our Dovre with its "billy goats gruff" scene on the back plate. Fantastic to have it wide open and appreciate it like a roaring fire; or to close it up so it burns more efficiently
    , but still be able to see the fire clearly through the long glass doors. First saw one after visiting a holiday cottage in North Wales and knew it was the stove we were looking for!!! Had ours installed six years ago now with absolutely no regrets.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2