WhatStove?

Broseley eVolution 5 woodburning stove

Overall Rating:

3.5 flames

based on 12 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Broseley eVolution 5 woodburning stove

A Broseley contemporary stove with a high efficiency.

|This model is also available with a log store.

Plain big glass - wood burning only but has ash pan and grate.

Ok to use in smokeless area.

Technical Data
  • Height: 583mm
  • Width: 450mm
  • Depth: 385mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 3.5 flames
Quality of finish 4 flames
Value for money 4 flames
Ease of use 3.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4 flames
Firebox size 3.5 flames
How well does the airwash work 4 flames
Controllability 4 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 3.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 3.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Only installed a month ago, handle broken already!

    Steve Huckle one year ago

    I have the Evolution Desire5 Widescreen. I really like the clean modern look of this stove but I am seriously concerned about its robustness. It was installed just over a month ago and the handle which was very stiff on twisting to close, has broken. It is only a split pin that holds the handle itself onto the spigot of the locking mechanism, however it has split into 3 separate pieces. Now I'm not the Incredible Hulk, this handle really should be up to a good few years of use before I would expect even the slightest play or wear. What is worse is that Broseley do not seem to be particularly bothered about hurrying to send a replacement to my supplier, who to be fair are hassling them daily on my behalf. Come on Broseley. I bought British purposefully. Please don't make me regret it. At the moment I have a nice looking stove with no handle and a cold room.
    Overall rating:

    3 flames

Most Popular Review

  • design fault

    James Price 8 years ago

    I am a stove installer and retailer. I have discovered a massive problem with this appliance. In order to safely install a solid fuel appliance I have to fill in a Hetas certificate to state
    that all joints in the pipe and flue are overlapping downwards and gas tight. The spigot on this stove does not overlap downwards but sits on top of the stove - the result is creosote leaks out under the spigot onto the top of the stove causing a lot of mess and an awful smell. This has happened for two of my customers so far (I now have changed the stoves for ones that will function safely). Unfortunately the manufacturer says that the customer is at fault for producing creosote in burning - but I disagree - surely the simple provision for creosote to drain inside the flue like everything else designed for solid fuel is the only safe option?

    Stove expert replied: The manufacturer is correct in that creosote shouldn't be being formed inside a chimney. If creosote does occur then it is an indication that the moisture content of the wood being burned is too high or that the chimney liner isn't insulated sufficiently or possibly a combination of both. However in the real world wood that isn't fully seasoned can get burnt on occasions, stoves can get turned right down for longer than they should (again leading to condensates), and so for that reason flues and stoves are normally designed so that any condensate formed ends up back in the stove. A simple solution here would be to lift the flue spigot, remove the fire rope and seal it with high temperature silicone (good to 1200 degrees) which will prevent creosote leaking. I checked with the manufacturer and they were happy with this slight modification. The smell of creosote is very unpleasant but that smell is always a timely warning to check the firewood that is being used and to make sure that the liner is sufficiently insulated. Creosote forming in a chimney can lead to a chimney fire and they are dangerous.

    Overall rating:

    1.5 flames

More reviews for Broseley eVolution 5 woodburning stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Great stove but a couple of issues

    Damian Findlow 4 years ago

    Had this stove for about 4 years now. I do like it but as someone else stated the fire board inserts do crack and break on a regular basis. I have had 2 sets now. Also if you open the door to
    put another log on before the last one has burnt down to embers smoke will come into the room. Apart from that it looks good and is great quality and pumps out a lot of heat.

    Stove expert replied: Refuelling should be undertaken when the majority of the wood has been burnt, opening when you have partially burnt wood does affect the efficiency.

    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Fire bricks keep breaking

    Carmel Walker 6 years ago

    I love this fire apart from the fire bricks keep breaking, We've had them changed 3 times from new, but after the third time we were fed up of calling Brossley out. We're now having to replace all the firebricks costing £200 ! I'm waiting for the bricks to be installed to find out how long the guarantee will be.
    Overall rating:

    3.5 flames

  • Impressed

    Gavin Wade 6 years ago

    After a year we have finally had the chimney sorted and had the stove fitted, the wood lasts longer in the Broseley than our previous Tiger stove but with the premium price that's one of the
    expectations!Due to the depth of our hearth the stove has a rear flue fitted instead of using the top but it still draws well.The stove does like a quick hot fire to get going and leaving the door ajar by an inch for ten minutes really helps - I've found that when adding logs there is often a need to leave the door open for a few minutes to get the logs going ( all 20% moisture or less) but other then that it's great, the viewing window and the air wash is fantastic as is the heat.We are in a smokeless zone and this stove is DEFRA approved for our area, very little smoke visible from the chimney too.The stove does have a grate and ash pan but it's just as easy to scoop the ash out than try to mess with the grate your logs must be 12" at the most or they will not fit so best seems to be around 8 - 10".
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Evolution 5

    Ben Trousdale 6 years ago

    Recently purchased the evo 5 and what a cracking stove it is ,visual and performance are fantastic the air wash system is superb the only issue we have had with the burner is that when you come
    to refuel with a log you get a blast of smoke into the room it does go after 5/10mins but still not a pleasant experience, does anybody else suffer with this issue?..over all can not fault the product definitely worth the money.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • On going problems

    James Price 7 years ago

    Overall rating:

    0.5 flames

  • Brilliant

    Natalie Raynor 7 years ago

    This is a great stove !!! View of fire inside is great, very large window The heat is outstanding, brilliant quality !!!!!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Sleek and efficient

    Sara Drewett 7 years ago

    We have just had this stove fitted in our open plan room which leads to the kitchen and our dining room. It has proved to be an instant success as it is easy to light, heat efficient,has a modern look with a large glass door that shows off the mesmerizing flames and is easy to clean out. Our stove fitter said that it is one of his favourites to fit and agreed with us that it is a beautiful stove. Our 'snug' room is now the heart of the house and we are thrilled.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  • Best contemporary dedicated wood burner available

    Matthew Jewell 8 years ago

    Stunning looks and cost just under £1000. So good we have just invested in a second evolution but this time the evolution 26 boiler model which is being linked directly into our gas combi
    boiler....can't wait.
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2