WhatStove?

Aarrow Ecoburn 5 stove

Overall Rating:

4.5 flames

based on 16 reviews    (View rating breakdown)
Aarrow Ecoburn 5 stove

The Aarrow Ecoburn 5 stove is the smallest in the Ecoburn range of Aarrow stoves.

There is one door on this model which has a glass panel in it with a gentle curve to the top.

There is a primary and secondary air supply. The primary air can either be supplied below the grate when coal burning or above the firegrate for wood burning.

This stove has an optional stand & you can also get a high or low canopy for it.

Technical Data
  • Height: 525mm
  • Width: 393mm
  • Depth: 372mm

Add your review of this stove

Review Ratings Breakdown

Build Quality 4.5 flames
Quality of finish 4.5 flames
Value for money 4.5 flames
Ease of use 4.5 flames
Ease of lighting 4.5 flames
Firebox size 4 flames
How well does the airwash work 4.5 flames
Controllability 4.5 flames
Handle operation 3.5 flames
How likely are you to buy it again? 4.5 flames
What is your overall satisfaction? 4.5 flames

Most Recent Review

  • Eco 5 widescreen

    Sam Kett one year ago

    I have owned the Ecoburn plus 5 widescreen for 6 months now I am very impressed by it. It's a lovely design and kicks out a lot of heat. I have two minor issues with the burner, the handle of
    the system does get hot after a few hours of use however if you use a heat resistant glove this is not a problem. The second issue is the collection tray for the ash is slightly smaller than the width of the burner so when emptying the tray you end up with two lines of ash either side. Overall I am very impressed and would definitely recommend it to anyone!

    Stove expert replied: Nice comments overall. As with most stoves a glove is recommended to be used for operating the door handle or sometimes the operating tool supplied is preferred, I personally find this more fiddly and a glove is generally much simpler which is why they are supplied with most stoves. Regarding the ash pan width, due to the pan opening and overall body construction, they do tend to be smaller in size than the fire bed width and yes it is annoying to leave ash behind, I have found a stove hoover ideal for this job. If the full width is not used in the stove for the grate system, then you get a dead space at the sides and ash collects there so compromises are made in the overall design to get the most effective use of both the firebox and ash collection system.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

Most Popular Review

  • Aarow Ecoburn 5

    Mark Colbourne 12 years ago

    Fantastic little stove that will warm your toes on a winter evening. The stove simply works for a large living room and is extremely easy to use.Changing the grate from wood to coal is a simple
    lever function and changing the ash tray is just as easy. The finish is solid and stylish with a decent sized window.A handy feature is the adjustable rear feet to provide stability on an uneven hearth.Can't fault it!!
    Overall rating:

    5 flames

More reviews for Aarrow Ecoburn 5 stove (page 1 of 2)

  • Eco5

    Michael Wood 2 years ago

    Handle far too hot that is the only thing wrong with this stove. Could be changed to make it better for the user.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Best pruchase we made

    4 years ago

    We wanted a multi fuel burner rather than just a log burner, British made and as light as possible. After many weeks of research (this site being especially helpful) this Eco Burn ticked all
    the boxes. We have now had this stove for just less than 12 months. The stove has been fantastic, easy to light and use with just the one controller, the slider diverting the air feed depending on fuel type. We have only ever burnt logs , but have found that setting the stove to coal is great for lighting or boosting the burn as the air is fed from under the grate. The heat output is very good (as ever very dependant upon the type & water content of the wood) and takes about 30 minutes to get to temperature. We leave the room door open to heat the whole house which this easily does. If fitted again, I would go for an external air feed as we get some draught by the air being drawn into the room to feed the fire and assume this would reduce with an external feed?. The only issue we had initially has been with the throat plate becoming dislodged as it fits very tightly over a metal bracket welded to the rear of the stove- this required me to lever/ force it on and down with a screwdriver- otherwise every time a log was placed on the stove that touched the plate, it fell forward and blocked the flue. Removal of the throat plate for cleaning / sweeping is also challenging (you lever it off the bracket but impossible to actually flip it to the correct angle to fit through the door!) even with what looks like the whole of the inner panels removed . There is a rear support bracket for the grate which looks like it's welded in (but it's not and is quite difficult to get at) which also has to be removed, the close tolerances mean that the throat plate is a millimetre accurate fit- this last piece of information is not indicated in any instructions I could find and I had to contact the manufacturer in the end who we very helpful. A well made, good looking, British produced stove, easy to light, and produces plenty of heat when needed, which I would buy again

    Stove expert replied: Great review, removal of internal parts can be difficult and dirty especially once the stove is in use, but a tight fit means the parts usually stay in place.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Pleased

    4 years ago

    The only flaws I can find are that the door handle does get hot and the airwash isn't as effective at low burn rates. But I understand that's true of most stoves. Would definitely buy one again
    .

    Stove expert replied: Restricting the airwash will mean less air washing over the glass and hence it discolours.

    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Brilliant stove

    Dave Smith 6 years ago

    I have the Eco 5 plus in a medium sized room. It is very easy to light, throws out masses of heat but most impressively, if I stoke it up with wood at bedtime and close the air inlets, it will
    restart the next morning by just chucking on a couple of logs and opening the air inlets. Lovin it!
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Little cracker

    Gareth T 8 years ago

    We've had this little cracker for about a year and a half now and it's as good as new, or so we were told after its last service. The heat control is great with no problems getting the fire
    going, I've not looked back. Friends always comment on its look, so for me it's a big thumbs up.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Using the Ecoburn 5

    Barrie Ormsby 8 years ago

    I would be completely satisfied with this stove except for the poor design of the handle which gets too hot, is loose and falls off. If this could be redesigned, it would be as effective as
    it is attractive. It is a pleasing and 'unfussy' design.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Ecoburn 5

    Marc Bright 8 years ago

    Great for keeping warm in the colder months
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  • Ecoburn 5

    Richard Pryse 8 years ago

    Great stove, very pleased with it.
    Overall rating:

    4.5 flames

  • Small but powerful.

    Dave 8 years ago

    We found we had a leaking flue in our 200 year old holiday cottage, and the cheapest option was to replace the open fire with a stove & liner. The fireplace isn't huge, so we were limited for choice, and the Ecoburn 5 seemed to be the best option. Overall we've had no major problems - the stove gets a lot of use from holidaymakers, probably more so than in a normal domestic setting, as it has the novelty factor. Kit for holiday lets has to be robust! Guests don't seem to have any trouble lighting it, and we get appreciative comments from out winter vistors. When we stay, we notice it puts out a lot more heat for a lot less fuel than the open fire it replaced, but I guess that's true for most stoves. The only down sides are the small firebox - 8" max logs (but then we needed a small stove, so knew we'd have to put up with that), and we find that the the throat plate gets dislodged fairly easily when guests overfill the firebox, and guests can't work out how to re-position it correctly. This results in no airwash, and poorer burning. Will just stay in over night with a full load of logs, and a bit of kindling on the embers in the morning to get it going again, or more easily with some multi-fuel briquettes. One day we'll open up the inglenook and have something a bit bigger, but for now the Ecoburn 5 is great.
    Overall rating:

    4 flames

  1. 1
  2. 2